Chocolate Fudge Sauce, Ice Cream Series Part 5

Standard

Aldi Sales for August 8 ~ August 14.  

In the ad this week, Aldi did a price comparison of their prices versus other stores prices. It is nice to see that you do save money shopping there. It is a GREAT store, easy to shop and they have all you basically need to stock your pantry. Here are some ideas of what to do with some of the “weekly specials”.

* Fresh Split Chicken Breasts, a 3 lb. package is $0.99 per lb.  This is nice to have on hand to cook up and shred and freeze, then you have chicken on hand. Which makes for quick  meal prep when making Baked Taquitos and Cordon Blue Casserole.  You can even use it in BBQ Chicken Salad IF you do not feel like grilling. Having cooked shredded chicken on hand will come in handy!

* A 40 oz. container of Peanut Butter is $4.49. As you can tell we like Peanut Butter things here! Peanut Butter Ice Cream Topping,  Cheerio Chow,  Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies,  Outrageous Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies,  and No Bake Cornflake Peanut Butter Cookies!

* A 7.5 oz. bag of Bugles is $0.99.  I know it may sound silly, but I actually like Bugles in snack mixes like Favorite Snack Mix, just sub a cup or two in for one of the other ingredients….you might be surprised at how good it is!

* Nesquik Chocolate Milk Mix is a special right now for $3.99. That is what I usually add to some milk for the chocolate milk portion on the recipe when I make Iced Coffee Latte.  Plus, the kids enjoy a treat of chocolate milk once in a while…me too.

* Assorted Twin Pops are also a special, an 18 pack (42.3 oz.) for $1.89.

* Enjoy a 1 lb. container of strawberries for $0.99 ~ either eat as a snack or put in a variety of salads. Fruit Salsa (don’t forget the Kiwis! They are $0.99 for 16 oz.),  Strawberry Pretzel Fluff,  or Strawberry Lettuce Salad.

* ICE CREAM. A 48 oz. container is also a “special” priced at $2.69. Today’s recipe will be an ice cream topping to serve WITH your ice cream.

I had been trying lots of hot fudge or chocolate sauce recipes, looking for one that was fudgey and thick and easy. This is the one that made me STOP trying other recipes. It is nearly like “soft not set up fudge” when it is chillin’ in the fridge and you end up taking a bite cause you need your chocolate fix satisfied……. then when it is warmed up it is still thick but very pourable.  I use it when I want a chocolate drizzle on desserts or brownies too! Hope you enjoy….did I ever tell you about the happy hop and screech that just MIGHT have taken place right there in the Aldi isle when I realized that they had heavy whipping cream AND it wasn’t even the holidays?? That was fun. Let’s see if it is something that they will ALWAYS  have, for now I will enjoy.

yields about 2 – 2 1/2 c. of sauce.

Chocolate Fudge Sauce 
1 c. heavy whipping cream, NOT whipped
1/3 c. brown sugar
2 TB. butter
1 1/3 c. chocolate chips
1/2 dash of salt, like just a few grains
1 tsp. vanilla
Heat the heavy whipping cream, brown sugar and butter ~ just till melted, dissolved and combined well ~ don’t bring to a boil. Take off heat and add the chocolate chips, grain or 5 of salt and vanilla. Stir till all melted and combined beautifully. Let cool a bit and serve (or chill in a covered container in fridge and warm a bit when needed). Enjoy.  Oh, yeah, serve as an ice cream sauce, a dessert drizzler or a brownie topper.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. Great Aldi sale comparison! Love to see all the fruit on sale. The fruit salsa and cinnamon chips are on my list for next week to make along with possibly a batch of the ice coffee – decaf of course 🙂

Leave a comment