Favorite Snack Mix

Standard

I don’t take this word lightly, “fravrite” “favorite”.  K, well maybe it is one of my very favorite words so I like to say it. When I saw the title “Favorite Snack Mix” I just KNEW we would love it!! I saw it at Blue Skies and Butterflies and made it ASAP. We really enjoyed it and I hope you do too! I am going to quote Rachael and say ” just to warn you, this stuff is quite addicting.” No doubt it is!

*Check out the original recipe here, I really just changed the “mix” ingredients because I did not have Crispix or mixed nuts. PLUS I love to throw in all sorts of crazy things in my mixes like this. (Examples you can use:  oyster crackers, Honey Comb Cereal, Cheerios, Cheese It crackers, goldfish crackers, any kinda nut you like,  really whatever bags of whatever you have left in your cupboard…well, within reason!!)

* I make a lot of snack mixes, usually I do one that has corn syrup and baking soda in it. Lately however it had been chewy and not crispy crunchy. Might have been me, my oven, my attitude, the humidity, my sugar, who knows. I just know that this one has been spot on all 3 times I have made it, high humidity or not!

Favorite Snack Mix
5 cups corn chex cereal
2-3 c. pretzels
2 c. Cheerios
3/4 c. butter or margarine
3/4 c. brown sugar
In a large bowl, combine the cereal and pretzels. In a sauce pan over low heat, melt butter. Add brown sugar: cook and stir until dissolved. Bring to a boil and boil for 2 minutes, stirring always. Pour over cereal mixture, stir to coat.  Divide mixture in half and pour onto 2 cookie sheets. Bake @ 325* for 8 minutes; stir and rotate cookie sheets, then bake for 8 more minutes. Spread on waxed paper or a paper bag( I like a paper bag cause it absordes any extra butter) to cool. Let cool and refrain from eating any until the scolding burningness from hot sugar is gone…ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from Blue Skies and Butterflies. Thanks Rachael for a GREAT recipe!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Chicken Salad and Chex Mix « Kats’ Kitchen

  2. I had to let you know I make this A LOT! Throwing together now for kids’ lunches tomorrow. Love it because so few ingredients and ones I almost always have in the house! Thanks for a very valuable recipe 🙂

    • Thanks! 🙂 It is really fun for me to hear what recipes people enjoy to make, and ones their families enjoy! yum….I actually want to go make this right. now. (For sure tomorrow…..!)THANKS!!!

Leave a Reply

