Mock White Castles & Strawberry Pretzel Fluff

Standard

Aldi sale time!!
Sale runs from June 13 – June 19.

*Clancy’s Pretzels Thins are $1.29 a bag, grab those along with a 16 oz. pkg of Strawberries for $1.19 and you well on your way to having  Strawberry Pretzel Fluff…now you just need to make it! 🙂
* Kings Hawaiian Sweet Rolls make EXCELLENT little sandwiches for kids, mine just love them! They are $2.29 this week. I use them to make Mock White Castles.
*Fit & Active Ranch Dressing is $1.29. Why not give Ranch Potatoes a try this week!??!
* Kirkwood fresh chicken breasts are $1.99 lb. We like Chili Mozzarella Chicken, you might too!

(I hope you can see what I am trying to do here, as my recipe “collection” grows I hope to give you a recipe to go with each sale item. When I cannot come up with a new recipe to match a sale item I will simply give you a recipe using Aldi items. I know a lot of us shop and love Aldi, so I hope you all enjoy this…as I do. Please share and pass this on with your friends and family if you know they like Aldi too! Also, if you have a recipe you care to share, I will make it and post it!! 🙂 just send it to favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com, this is OPEN to anyone ~friends, family, even those of you I don’t know! Thanks, hope your spring is going well!!)

I grew up eating Mock White Castles, it was one of my favorite dinners and now the same can be said for my kids! This is a great meal that can be put together early in the day, just be sure to wrap it up well in foil and chill till ready to warm.  IF it is too hot to turn the oven on ~ then warm it on the grill on low till heated through. (Watch that the bottoms do not get TOO toasty though!) In all truthfulness, these buns shown are not Kings Hawaiian. I had what I had and I used it (more on those buns later in another post!!) You can use any “dinner” type roll you want, my preference is the sweeter Hawaiian Roll~ (I have a thing for salty/sweet as you can see from the Strawberry Pretzel Recipe as well!) ~ THAT is why I wanted to get this recipe out to you all so that you can pick up a pack of rolls and try it out for yourself!!!…if you want! (You may also use the Sarah Lee brand dinner rolls or Pepperidge Farm brand, neither are at Aldi though…)

Mock White Castles  
1 1/2 lb. ground beef
1 pkg. onion soup mix
1 pkg. dinner rolls (a 12 pack)
american cheese slices
dill pickle slices
Mix beef and soup mix and spread thinly onto a jelly roll pan with sides! Press it to be a good couple inches BIGGER than the pkg. of buns itself…remember that meat shrinks! Bake @ 350* for 15-20 minutes. Cut into 12 squares or rectangles to fit your buns, no need for perfection..trust me, it WILL not happen, they will be uneven I am convinced of this ~ or maybe you are just better at cutting then me! Put meat squares on buns and then put 1/4 slice of  american cheese on top of meat, then a couple dill pickle slices on top of cheese. At this point I wrap well in foil and chill OR put them right in the oven to warm. For fresh made, warm about 10 minutes @ 350* and if they were made earlier in the day that need to be heated for about 20-25 minutes (check to be sure your bottom buns are not burning). Enjoy!

Recipe from Mom W.

This is one good salad, a wonderful summer salad. Way up there in my family’s favorite foods list. I call it a salad, it could be called a dessert…na…make it for dinner and serve the leftovers for dessert IF there are any!! I like that idea….

Strawberry Pretzel Fluff  
1 1/2 c. coarsely crushed pretzels
1/2 c. melted butter
1/2 c. sugar
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 c. sugar
2 c. fresh strawberries, sliced (I use more IF I have it)
12 oz. Cool Whip
In a bowl, combine the crushed pretzels, butter and 1/2 c. sugar. Mix and press into a 9″ x 13″ pan, bake @ 400* for about 7 minutes. Cool. In a mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese and the other 1/2 c. sugar till creamy. Fold in strawberries and Cool Whip. Break pretzels up into small pieces  and fold in JUST before serving to keep them crunchy. Yum. Enjoy.

Recipe adapted from Hull PRCS Cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. mmm! I had strawberries, cream cheese and some coolwhip sitting in my fridge!! and just picked up pretzles Monday!! signing off to make this now!:) i NEVER think of this salad and it’s one of my favorites!!!!!

  2. Bobbi- I grew up eating these mock White Castles too! An easy change of pace from traditional hamburgers, I am going to try the pretzel salad, I like because it does not involve jello like the other recipe:)

    • I hope you like the Pretzel Fluff, my kids would eat it everyday IF I would let them (or make it!). The kids really enjoy the “mock white castles” too, I think the handheld thing is fun for them! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  3. Mock White Castles or Cheeseburger Sliders-love them! So easy, quick to put together, nice addition to a soup night. Though pairing with Chicken Wild Rice soup I’m not sure is the greatest combo, but it worked! Will be making these again and again!!

Leave a Reply

