Strawberry Lettuce Salad & Chili Chicken Mozzarella

Standard

Aldi has a couple good buys going on starting May 16. That being said, they are “special buys” so I am not sure how long the sales will last….I am going to assume 1 week, but PLEASE don’t quote me!

* 16 oz. pkg. of strawberries is $1.19.
* A head of lettuce is $0.99. Use both the strawberries AND the lettuce in Strawberry Lettuce Salad…hence the name!
* A 48 oz. bag of Kirkwood frozen chicken breasts, frozen, is $5.49 per bag. (IF my poor math is correct that is about $1.83 per lb. ~ not too shabby.) Grab a bag and use some to make  Chili Chicken Mozzarella…IF you want! 🙂

This is a unique salad because of the use on ramen noodles in it, it makes a lovely crunchy topping ~ one that it hard to keep your’s or your kids hands out of! So you may want to hide it……

* This makes a lot of the noodle crunchy topping, I ended up freezing some. I haven’t used it yet…but I think it should be fine! (Or just eat the extra….)

* If you are uncertain of the soy sauce in it, go ahead and add some salt instead. I wasn’t sure, but added it and was happy with the flavor.

* I did not have red wine vinegar so used apple cider and it was fine.

Strawberry Lettuce Salad  
1 (3 oz.) pkg. ramen noodles
1 c. chopped walnuts
1/4 c. butter
1 tsp. sugar
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1/4 c. sugar
2 TB. red wine vinegar
1/2 tsp. soy sauce
8 c. torn lettuce
1/2 c. green onions, diced
2 c. fresh strawberries, sliced
Discard the seasoning pack from the ramen noodles, or save for another use. Break up the noodles. Heat the butter in a skillet, add the walnuts, uncooked ramen noodles and sugar. Stir and watch this carefully till golden brown, about 8-10 minutes. Take out of pan and set aside to cool. Find a jar with a tight-fitting lid and put the oil, sugar, vinegar and soy sauce in it. Give it a good shake shake shake till good and mixed. Put in fridge. Shake it when you grab a snack or sneak a treat, just to keep that sugar incorporated. Just before serving, combine the lettuce, green onions, strawberries and noodle mixture in a large bowl. Drizzle with dressing or serve on the side. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home’s Simple & Delicious.

One of my fravrite ((now for a TANGENT of sorts. I have forever said “fravrite” instead of f-a-v-o-r-i-t-e. I think I once told spell check to ignore and it now does! heehee. I have a thing for numbers and words, cannot STAND some and love others….LOVE  to make up words that mean what I want them to mean….sorry to dictionary writers and english teachers, but sometimes my inner “Ramona” comes out….and now, BACK to cooking.)) things to do it to talk about food, and share recipes with people. One of my friends shared this recipe with me, she found it on Facebook and since I, personally, am not on Facebook ~ she thought of me and passed it on. I am learning that I rarely follow a recipe exactly, I change this or that, not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing……. This is similar to the ever popular Chicken Parmesan, just a different version. I hope you all enjoy and let me know your thoughts!!! The good, the bad, the positive, the negative, the concerns and questions. 🙂

* The orignal recipe calls for 2 tsp. italian seasoning. My spice cabinet failed me that day and did not have italian seasoning, so I made up my own mix and liked it, so that it what I put in the recipe, please use italian seasoning if you would like!

* I added ~at the end of this recipe ~ on option to sprinkle the top with oregano. It’s cause I probably could put oregano near the tippy top of my fravrite herb list. How about you, what ranks high on your list??? Or am I the only one who thinks of herbs that way……

Chili Chicken Mozzarella  
2 TB. finely shredded parmesan cheese
2/3 c. Bisquick
3/4 tsp. dried basil
3/4 tsp. dried parsley
3/4 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. paprika
5  chicken breasts, boneless skinless
2/3 c. chili sauce
3/4 c. mozzarella
garlic powder for sprinkling
oregano for sprinkling (opt.)
Mix the parmesan cheese, Bisquick, basil, parsley, oregano and paprika. Mix well and put in a large ziplock bag and add chicken. Toss around to coat well. Put in a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Bake @ 350* for about 30 minutes, till done. Flip over. Top with chili sauce and cheese. Sprinkle with garlic and oregano, if desired. Bake till cheese is melted or you may broil for nice brown cheesy yumminess. Enjoy.

Thanks to Jill for sharing the original recipe via Facebook and thanks to my friend for sharing….you know who you ARE!!! 🙂 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

20 responses »

  1. I love the sound of the salad!!!!we have actually started having the strawberry spinach salad often at our house–i think this one will be even more well received!!

  2. I am going to make this salad up in Michigan over the Memorial Day weekend for a crowd of people at the cottage. I will omit the ramen noodles on a portion of it to make it gluten free. Sounds great and a nice variation from the strawberry spinach salad!

  3. DUMB question alert: I know what Bisquick is for, but would it be a terrible crime to use pancake mix as a substitute?

    • Well, Anonymous, the only “dumb” question is the question not asked! 😉 I have not tried this said recipe with Pancake mix. My only hesitation is it might be sweeter then Bisquick. Tho I am one to experiment…..Maybe I will try it with pancake mix, and let you know FOR SURE! Unless you try it 1st, keep me posted!! 🙂

  4. Ok, thanks for the feedback! I just never understood why I should buy 2 different (but essentially the same) thing, especially if I can get away with just one. I will let you know how it turns out!

  5. Bobbi, I wanted to share the recipes that John and I tried tonight. I also really wanted to share b/c I thought you’d appreciate our process. We were each (simultaneously) cooking one of your recipes. John cooked this chicken recipe, and I was making the fruit salsa. We literally had to take turns to go to your faithful blog and read our next steps, switching from one to the other. I don’t know what our night would have looked like if we didn’t have your blog to keep us well fed 🙂 Thanks a million! Oh, and by the way, both were a hit, I did use the corn tortillas for the “chips” and did not mind them!

    • I CANNOT even begin to tell you how so very happy this little note has made me. Seriously. Fun stuff. Love you guys. I am proud of you both! I cannot wait to make the cinnamon chips WITH corn tortillas, what a fabulously fun thing!!!! Thanks!!!! Did I tell you that I made the chicken with pancake mix and it was fine? Wonder if I forgot to tell you about that…..Did you use Bisquick or Pancake Mix??? So glad that you guys are reading and THANKS so much for commenting and all the fun stuff. My face cannot quit smiling.

      • ha well I’m glad you are glad! And I don’t know what you’re talking about Regarding Buisquick versus Pancake mix, I see an anonymous writer wrote that above 😉 J/K you did let me know, and we did use the pancake mix without any problems or issues! Maybe it tasted better because John cooked it all himself 🙂

      • Oh, dear, I seemed to have confused you with someone else! 😉 I need to learn to go back and check BEFORE responding!!!! Go John!

      • Oh and the girls who I shared the fruit salsa with devoured it, and I was sure to share my source for the recipe 🙂

  6. I hope it’s ok that I “tweaked” your recipe a little bit. We didn’t have a few spices so we just made due with the ones we had. I also sprinkled some of the extra breading mix on top of the chicken hoping for an extra crispiness. It didn’t quite pan out the way I thought it would, maybe because it was a dry mix? I don’t recall ever really experiencing chili sauce but I really enjoyed it. It’s a pretty strong flavor and I kind of just dumped it onto the chicken so next time I think I may cut back on the chili sauce a bit…and is there even such a thing as too much cheese?!?! There wasn’t even one piece left over so I’m pretty sure this is a meal that we will add to our rotation! Thanks for sharing!

    • I think that is WONDERFUL! You are becoming quite the chef! Hats off to you! 🙂 If you are looking for a crispy crunchy topping for chicken you need to make mom’s cornflake chicken. (Her or I can get you that recipe.) Chili sauce IS real good. We like it here too! NEVER too much cheese. Especially when getting kids (*or picky ones*) to eat!!!! Thank YOU for reading. (Though I am not sure if you are mocking me a bit here 😉 !)

  7. I wasn’t mocking at all. Sorry if it came off like that! I rarely ever attempt to make anything more than a frozen pizza so I really enjoyed it!

    • I was kidding about you mocking me. Thus the ;)! I just really am enjoying chatting with you and hearing about your adventures!! I never would have guessed!!! Though you have always been FABULOUS with a toaster and pizza pan! 🙂 SO fun!

  8. I love strawberry lettuce salad. Just made the other day but this slightly different. Just wondered if you ever skipped the ramen noodles. Not that I’m opposed to using just curious. Ok gonna make this version for Sunday meal. Yum yum 🙂

    • You can leave out the noodles, no problem, however ~ I would for sure add some kinda nut (the crunch is really good!) ((But even THAT is optional! 🙂 ))

Leave a Reply

