Beer Bread & Dill Dip

Standard

food 026

This post is LONG over due. I friend of mine brought this treat over for a cookout long ago and I just haven’t gotten a chance to get it out to you all!

Have you ever had Beer Bread? Did you think you could only make it from the packet you bought from Tastefully Simple?  Well, you CAN make you own and it is NOT hard! This delicious dip was made by my friend, I have not made it myself yet BUT it replaced my other Dill Dip I had and THAT says a lot! The recipe calls for Accent, I do not have that ~ so I might mix up the other ingredients and add salt to taste. Though as my friend said, it might be SO good because of the Accent……so go the route that you so choose!

* I use 3 c. flour, 3 tsp. baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp. salt in place of the 3 c. of self-rising flour.

Beer Bread 
3 c. self rising flour *
1 – 12 oz. can of beer
1/2 c. sugar

* Make your OWN self rising flour!!! 3 c. flour, 3 tsp. baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp. salt, mix and use that in place of the 3 c. self rising flour.

Mix all the ingredients together, there may be a few lumps left. Pour into a greased 9″ x 5″ loaf pan and bake @ 350* for about 45 minutes. Cool a few minutes, then put on a cooling rack to cool all the way. Then cut up into cubes to use as a dipper. Enjoy.

Dill Dip
1 TB. parsley
1 TB. minced onion
1 tsp. dried dill weed
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 tsp. Accent
2/3 c. sour cream
2/3 c. mayonnaise
Put all the above in a bowl and mix till smooth. Cover and chill a while to meld the flavors. Serve with Beer Bread. Enjoy.

Beer Bread recipe from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor. Dill Dip recipe from Annette.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

12 responses »

  1. I have a similar recipe for dill dip and I have substituted seasoned salt for the accent. I did this because accent has MSG in it and some people get migraines or other problems from it so I use half the amount it calls for of seasoned salt and it was great. It is one of my favorite dips as well!

    • Thanks 🙂 Yeah, I never buy self-rising flour! Looks like we had the same “recipe” for it, though yours has less sugar then mine, I WILL try it with less sugar next time FOR sure!!!! Thanks….

    • Me too….. (tho I did NOT forget about it, the picture is/was in my “food folder” and was always taunting me….saying “make me make me….MAKE ME!!”) Me too, meaning…I want a snack…… Thanks for commenting!

  2. I made the bread and the dip yesterday. It was SOOOOO easy and SOOOOO good! I made another batch today! I was glad to read that we don’t HAVE to use accent as I have never bought it. Thanks!

  3. Ok, good to know! Thanks for the lesson! I have to say I have learned an awful lot since reading this blog 🙂 Thanks for putting up with my beginner questions!

Leave a Reply

