Cordon Blue Casserole

Standard

I am always on the hunt for “kid” friendly as well as “adult” friendly meals. Something we can all enjoy. This is one of those dishes. There is nothing scary in it…..scary means, green in my house. Why do kids have a hard time with the “green” veggies?? They are GOOD!! I make them eat a little bit when I make them cause I REFUSE to have picky kids…thought that is easier said then done! I just hope their pickyness goes away!  But for now…I will still make those veggies! and they will still have to TRY them, even just 1 bite!  Anyways, this casserole gets gobbled up each time. I serve it with some kind of potato and a veggie of some sort. Look for a yummy potato recipe coming your way! IF you want a delish green bean recipe that your kids WILL gobble up, than look no further then right here!! By the way, this dish is a GREAT way to use some leftover ham from Easter….

*If you are unfamiliar with ground nutmeg in white sauces, then you may omit it. I grew up with it, my grandma always added it, so it is a flavor I am comfortable with. Try a bit if you are unsure, it really is not a super STRONG flavor…..

*I like my casseroles to be sorts thin in the dish, not TOO thick, that way they cook up all nice and crispy around the edges. If you like your thicker, then cook in a 8″ x 8″ pan. I think this serves about 4. At my bestest guess.

Cordon Blue Casserole
2 c. cubed cooked turkey (I usually use chicken)
1 1/2 c. cubed, cooked ham
1 c. shredded cheddar
1 c. chopped onion
1/4 c. butter
1/3 c. flour
2 c. milk
1/8 tsp. ground mustard
1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg (I just add a pinch!)(which is an 1/8…I guess..)
salt and pepper to taste, remember that ham is salty!
Topping:
1 c. dry bread crumbs (LOVE Panko bread crumbs)
2 TB. butter or margarine, melted
1/4 – 1/2 c. cheddar cheese (LOVE cheese!)

Combine the turkey, ham and cheese in a large bowl and set aside. In a sauce pan, saute` the onion in the butter till tender. Add the flour, stir to form a paste. GRADUALLY add the milk in, stir constantly to avoid lumps. Bring to a boil and boil 1 minute or until thickened. Add mustard and nutmeg. Mix well. Remove from heat and pour over meat mixture. Mix well and pour in 9″x13″ pan.  Toss the topping ingredients together and put on top. Bake uncovered @ 350* for 30 minutes.

Recipe adapted from Hull PRCS Cookbook.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. This looks delicious! I really like the fact that there is no cream of ANY soup included – I’m looking for more recipes without it!

    • Yeah, cream soups are so very salty, I try to be careful and not use them too much. I do like the Aldi “fit and active” brand though. I am trying my hand at “cream of” soups. I will keep you….posted…as to how it goes!

Leave a Reply

