Hawaiian Sweet Bread & Peanut Butter Ice Cream Topping (Ice Cream Series #4)

Standard

I have always liked Hawaiian Sweet Bread, my kids really like it with ham for their lunches. So I thought, why not try to make it? I saw this recipe at allrecipes.com and it turned out GREAT.  I did the full batch and it yields one round loaf and 24 dinner roll size buns.

*One change that I made was that I skipped the ginger cause my spice cabinet was out of it, it was fine without, I may try it next time with it or a I may just leave it out every time. IF I do it differently another time I will update the post with my opinion!

* These ARE the rolls I have used to make “Mock White Castles“.

* Oh yeah, my loaf got a little dark. IT however was NOT dry! But DO head to the warning about covering it with foil if it browns to quickly……

Hawaiian Sweet Bread 
7 c. flour
3/4 c. instant mashed potato flakes
2/3 c. sugar
2 (.25 ounce) pkgs. active dry yeast
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground ginger (I did not have so I skipped)
1 c. milk
1/2 c. water
1/2 c. butter, softened
1 c. pineapple juice
3 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract
In a large mixing bowl, combine 3 cups flour, potato flakes, sugar, yeast, salt and ginger. In a small saucepan, heat the milk, water, butter and pineapple juice till warm. Add to dry ingredients; beat just until combines. Add eggs; beat until smooth. Beat in vanilla. Stir in enough remaining flour to form a soft dough.
Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease the top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1-1/4 hours.
Punch dough down. Turn onto a lightly floured surface; divide into thirds. Shape each into a ball. Place in three greased 9-in. round baking pans. (Or divide into dinner rolls, each round ball should yield between 9-12 dinner rolls.) Cover and let rise until doubled, about 45 minutes.
Bake @ 375* for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Cover loosely with foil if top browns too quickly. Remove from pans to wire racks to cool.

Recipe from allrecipes.com.

Ice cream is fun, BUT ice cream WITH toppings is MUCH more fun! Here is a yum topping. It is delicious on a spoon warmed over ice cream or on a brownie. I found this recipe at Katrina’s Kitchen and we all enjoyed it.

* Silly me, I thought I had a picture of this over ice cream, but nope ~ just over a brownie,which was FANTASTIC by the way! BUT we also enjoyed it over ice cream and that is why I am including it in my “thought I had forgotten about it? Ice Cream Series!!”

* I did make just 2 SLIGHT changes, hardly worth mentioning, but I will ~ I upped the peanut butter to a heaping 1/2 c. and upped the vanilla to 1 tsp.

Enjoy!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

9 responses »

  1. Wow Bobbi, that Hawaiian loaf is beautiful….the rolls too, this is a very interesting recipe and when I remember to buy potatoe flakes and am sure gonna make this recipe…..by then I will be ready for spinich dip again!:)

  2. Bobbi- I am still amazed that you do not weigh 400 lbs! Judging from those yummy looking pictures you must have a lot of self control! 🙂

    • Funny Beck! 🙂 Maybe its self-control, maybe it is all the “men” who I get to share the goodies with so they all don’t end up on my plate…..

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Fudge Sauce, Ice Cream Series Part 5 « favoritefamilyfoods

    • I actually have never tried them for chicken salad sandwiches BUT think that it would work great! I make ham and cheese sandwiches out of these and that is really good….just remember it is a sweeter bread, which I LOVE because I love the sweet salty combo when made into a sandwich. Let me know how it goes IF you give it a go! Thanks!

  4. I was going to make this one day so I pulled up the recipe and realized I did not have instant potatoes or pineapple juice, I was going to go to the store and buy those things and decided it would be easier to just buy Hawaiian Bread so that’s what I did. Then a couple weeks later while in the grocery store a box of instant potatoes caught my eye and I decided to buy them so I would have it in the house. Anyway I made these rolls (I used the juice from canned crushed pineapple ) and they were sooooo delicious! The dough was really nice to work with and they looked just like the picture and tasted better! My homemade rolls don’t always turn out the best so I was thrilled with this recipe!! Oh and you can use the pineapple to throw together a dump cake which is the easiest dessert to make and one of my favorites! Maybe Bobbi will post it sometime 🙂

    • Glad it all worked out! (and that you were happy with the results!!) I will make a mental note to MAKE that dessert and share it with others!! (It is a favorite over here too!!) I ALWAYS love suggestions! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

