Outrageous Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

Standard

GREAT name, these are OUTRAGEOUS…delicious, delectable, stellar, fantastic. Whatever your favorite descriptive word of choice is. Chewy, crispy edges. This makes a huge batch which makes it appealing this time of year when you may not want to be baking every third day….with kids home we go through snacks like CRAZY! PS. They freeze great and are delicious right out of the freezer! OR warm it in the microwave for 8-10 seconds for a “fresh from the oven cookie” fake-out!  (This batch yields about 9-10 dozen cookies.)

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies  
2 c. sugar
1 1/2 c. brown sugar
2 c. margarine, softened
2 c. peanut butter
2 tsp. vanilla
4 eggs
4 c. flour
2 c. oatmeal
4 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
12 oz. chocolate chips
Beat the softened butter with the sugars till light and fluffy. Add the peanut butter, eggs and vanilla. Beat till well mixed. Add the flour, oatmeal, baking soda and salt. Beat again till all combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. (At this point I ALWAYS chill my dough, which I suggest you do as well IF time allows you too.)  Scoop into 1 TB. size scoops and roll into balls. Space out a bit, as the cookies may spread (mine did not really, maybe cause I chilled the dough overnight 1st, not sure if that helped the cookies not to spread). Bake @ 350* for 9-12 minutes, depending of course on your oven. (Depending ALSO on your desired doneness, I prefer mine to be underdone and chewy,  while my husband prefers his darker brown and crispy…..)  Enjoy! 🙂

Recipe from Kathy.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. I’ve been waiting for this recipe for weeks and weeks!!! Just kidding, not quite that long. Thanks for the recipe, these WERE great cookies, can’t wait to make them myself – hopefully they turn out just as good!

    • Thanks, they were good that day! I wonder IF if had anything to go with the fact that it was about 102* and they were warm from the sun…just like they were fresh from the oven?! 🙂 My kids sure ate more then their fair share that day! It’s OK,the oatmeal makes it healthy…I think! 😉

  2. Yeah! I am glad you posted this:) These were so good! Thanks for sharing. I now have you in my Google Reader so I’ll get all your new recipes.

    • Yeah! Glad you liked 🙂 GLAD I made your “google reader” ~ I still need to that all out……what that is….heeheehe. Thanks for reading!!

  3. These cookies are fabulous! I’ve mentioned b/f, we love all things PB here, and as far as I am concerned, there is no greater cookie than one that meshes PB and chocolate chips. Yum, yum, yum! Hmmm…my batch yielded not quite 6 dozen (although with the amount of dough consumed it would have probably been about 6!!!) 🙂 I must have a bigger cookie scoop than you or I must confess I would probably just eat 2 if they were made smaller anyway 🙂 Thanks again!!

    • Glad you enjoyed them!!! I usually use the Pampered Chef cookie scoop, but I don’t fill it heaping full……. THO I do also like to use my 1/4 c. measuring cup to scoop out dough sometimes as well ~ big ol’ cookies then! (Dough eating is THE BEST part of cookie baking……….)

Leave a Reply

