Baked Creamy Taquitos & Pico de Gallo & Guacamole

Standard

My family really enjoys tacos BUT with young ones it seems that their filling is ALWAYS falling out and making a mess ~ really is no longer a taco but a mexican mess on their plates. So I saw this recipe at Kim’s Recipe Book and knew I needed to try it. YUM. All I have to say. I served it with guacamole and Pico de Gallo (when I said this name at dinner my husband said “what?” and I repeated and he again said “what?” so I said SALSA, fresh salsa! “Oh, OK, yum” he said. So really that is what it is fresh salsa. )

*I DID use green salsa verde that I purchased from a local Mexican store, but THINK that you can get away with regular red salsa. Green salsa verde has some heat to it, so keep that in mind! It is delish…..just don’t go crazy dipping chips in it or your gut will be achin’! Don’t ask how I know…..

*I will be trying different versions of this I am sure! I will let you know of ANY successes!

*I used toothpicks to hold the tortillas in a nice roll…..REMEMBER to take them out!! 😉

* I LOVE corn tortillas so I used a combo of both. Will do again. BUT I spaced and heated them on a plate, not covered and they dried out, (I know better!!) so when I rolled them this happened………..

….your shells WILL crack. Still good and edible BUT a little messy. So PLEASE cover with a bit of plastic wrap and heat a bit.

Here is the filling………

Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos
 
3 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/4 c. green salsa verde
1 T. fresh lime juice
1/2 t. cumin
1/2 t. chili powder
1/4 t. garlic powder
2 green onions, minced
3 T. chopped fresh cilantro
2 c. shredded cooked chicken
1 c. grated pepper jack or cheddar cheese
12 flour tortillas ( I used 4 flour and about 8 corn)
Cooking spray
Kosher salt

Preheat oven to 425*. Line a baking sheet with foil.
In bowl, mix together cream cheese, seasonings, green onion, and cilantro. Add in the chicken and cheese and combine well. You can make this ahead of time and store in the refrigerator.

Place 3 Tablespoons of the chicken filling on the lower third of the flour tortilla and roll tightly. Place seam-side down on the baking sheet. Spray tops of taquitos lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt. Bake 15-20 minutes until light brown and crisp.

I served with guacamole and Pico de Gallo. Really not a REAL recipe, just add this things in the amounts good for your families tastes!

Pico de Gallo
plum tomatoes (maybe 4-5)
onion (maybe 1/2 of an onion)
jalapeno (probably 1 for this small batch)
cilantro (I go CRAZY with this stuff! LOVE it. But IF you are new to it, start with a good couple TB’s)
lime (juice 1 half of it, save the other half for the quac)
salt (to taste)
garlic powder (a good dash)

I like to cut and drain the tomatoes a bit in a colander. Then add the rest. Chill a bit.

Easy Guacamole
1-2 avocados (depending on how much you want!)
lime (the other half from above)
2 TB’s for so of the Pico from above

Mash the avocados and add the rest. Mix well. Add the pit to prevent browning!! (This tip came from my sis-in-law!!!WORKS! Just remove when ready to serve.)

Enjoy!

Baked Creamy Taquito recipe from kim’srecipebook.

 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. I have a hint for the cracking corn tortillas—i made beef enchiladas and the recipe asked you to heat some oil in a pan and fry the tortillas just a bit–NOT to brown or crisp them –and that made them easier to work with!you didn’t need to much oil either and though it did take a little time it was worth it when it came to filling them!

  2. YUMM I want to make these now! So many good hints in here too, Bobbi! Oh I also learned placing 2-3 tortillas between paper towels in the microwave for 20-30 seconds softens them up perfectly for this kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

