Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Standard

Lisa (from Cooking Up a Sale) did a post recently about Greek yogurt. (Be sure to check out her post!!) It reminded me of these pancakes. I needed to make them again. They are really pretty and fluffy, filling and delicious.

Honesty, I was always afraid of Greek yogurt, but I  have been using it more and more, in place of mayo in salad dressings or dips. Even as sandwich spreads.

Have you tried Greek yogurt? Do you like it??? What have you used it in?

* I have made these with sour cream and regular yogurt as well.

* You can add chocolate chips, strawberries, wheat germ, really whatever you want to these.

food 958

Greek Yogurt Pancakes 

1 c. milk
1 c. Greek yogurt
2 eggs
2 c. flour
2 TB. sugar
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt

Whisk together the milk, yogurt and eggs. Set aside. Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt. Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture and whisk, it will be thick and there will be lumps. That is fine. Pancake batter should be lumpy……

Heat your griddle to 350° and spray with cooking spray or smear some butter on. Drop pancake batter in about 1/4 c. scoops onto hot griddle. (This batter is thick and will not spread too far, just sorta spread as you are putting the batter on the griddle.) Cook till you see bubbles, about 2 minutes, flip and cook another minute or 2 till light brown.

Serve. Enjoy.

Yields about 12 ~ 5″ pancakes.

Recipe from Sarah.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. Hey Bobbi- can you tell me the main difference between these pancakes and standard pancakes? Does the yogurt give it a certain taste or texture or something else? Just curious. Thanks, Becky

  2. Yes Bobbi, that does make sense. I can see that they would be more filling and full of calcium so a win win. Sounds like something to try! Thanks for your input.

  3. These were good! For a bit there I thought I did something wrong b/c they were SO thick. I basically had to scoop the batter instead of pour 🙂 And I learned to use a small amt and kinda spread out. My first few we’re mammoth!! But we really enjoyed and were definitely a more filling pancake.

    • Yes, they are so very thick!!! Yes, it is a more “scoopable” pancake as opposed to “pourable”!!! SO glad you guys enjoyed! SO glad you take the time to tell me about the things you make or like the looks of!!!!

Leave a comment