A Tale of Two Brownies…….

Standard

ONE gluten-free and ONE totally full of gluten……..

food 946

In an effort to be more aware of special dietary needs, I have experimented a bit with some gluten-free recipes. Brownies seemed like the next logical thing to attempt making gluten-free. Right away I found 2 recipes that interested me.  After tasting and having others taste for me, one was declared “the winner” ~ though they were both really good. The secret ingredient of the “winner”??……… Chickpeas!!!

I plan on keeping THAT ingredient a secret from my kids!!!!! My kids eat with their eyes 1st, how about yours?!?!? Hiding veggies and beans works out real well for my family! Don’t tell them that the spaghetti has pureed zucchini and/or carrots in it!!! 😉 PLEASE don’t tell them that these fabulous brownies have chick peas in them!

* I HAVE to be honest here. I am not sure how many eggs I used. I cracked 3 eggs in. ONLY to realize that I just. needed. the. whites. Oops. I scooped out 1 1/2 of the yolks. How? Not sure. Then I added another egg white. At this point I am trying to figure out where I am in the egg adding business. Ah, one more white, no, no, more yolk. No, no. Quit. SO I think I managed to get 3 ish egg whites in and 1 whole egg. *I think.*  Kitchen blunders happen ALL the time, right?!?!

Gluten Free Brownies 

1 1/4 c. chocolate chips
15 oz. can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
3 egg whites
1 egg
1 tsp. instant coffee granules (opt.)
2 TB. oil
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. baking powder
dash of salt
additional chocolate chips for top
chopped walnuts for top

Melt the chocolate till smooth.  Cool a bit.

Put the drained/rinsed chickpeas in your food processor or blender. Add the egg whites, egg, instant coffee granules (opt.), oil and vanilla. Process or blend till smooth. Add the brown sugar, baking powder and salt. Process till well mixed, slowly add in the melted chocolate and process till smooth.

Pour into a greased 9″ sq. baking pan. Bake @ 350° for about 30 minutes.

Let cool before cutting. (Though these would be so very very good warm with ice cream…..and hot fudge…….) ENJOY!!!

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home.

(Oh, yeah, here is the recipe for the other brownie. It was good too. Secret ingredient?!?!?!?  Black beans!)

Another Brownie Recipe. Just cause. ↓

food 304

Brownies are a fantastic treat, you can add so much to them or serve them plain, with powdered sugar sprinkled on top or frost with your favorite frosting. Serve warm with ice cream or eat sliver by sliver all day long……

I wanted to make a good “non-boxed” brownie. I had tried numerous recipes and was left with a dry, too fluffy, rock hard brownie….whatever the case was. I was totally BUMMED, every time. I nearly gave up.

TILL

I tried this recipe. Yum. We like these.

Fudge Brownies
2 sticks butter
2 1/4 c. sugar
4 eggs
1 1/4 c. cocoa powder
3/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. instant coffee granules
1 TB. vanilla
1 1/2 c. flour
2 c. chocolate chips (I use semi-sweet)

Melt the butter and add the sugar to combine, heat till hot ~ not boiling (it should look nice and shiny). Set aside. Beat cocoa with the eggs, add the salt, baking powder, instant coffee granules and vanilla. Beat just till combined. Add hot butter mixture and stir till smooth. Add flour and chocolate chips. ( I actually wait about 5 – 10 minutes to let the batter cool a bit and then stir in the choco chips, they then are about 1/2 melted and 1/2 not ~ you get a nice chocolate chunk when you bite into your brownie that way. If you stir it in right away, it will melt all the way ~ which is also tasty. OR wait longer, maybe 20 minutes so NONE of the chocolate chips melt.)

Pour into a greased 9″ x 13″ pan and  bake @ 350* for about 24-30 minutes. I cook on the shy side  of undercooked…. you know, when the middle looks hardly done….but I will suggest testing with a toothpick to see if it is cooked through. Be sure not to over bake….

Enjoy please….as always your comments are loved. 🙂 Please let me know if you have a brownie recipe you LOVE and always use!! Bye.

Recipe slightly adapted from King Arthur Flour.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. Those look pretty yummy Bobbi! I made some Black Bean Brownies and they tasted like…..Black Beans! Kinda gross! I love black beans as a main dish, not a dessert. Maybe the chickpeas are more mild. I’ll have to give it a try! I enjoy reading your posts!

    • Yeah, if you don’t know what the “secret” ingredient is, than it is pretty hard to figure out!!! If you give these a whirl, be sure to let me know what you think!!! Thanks for reading!! 🙂

  2. Let me add that I was one of the “secret taste testers” that Bobbi had try her gluten free brownies since my family is gluten free and I have sampled and made many different kinds. They both were awesome and my kids loved them as well. I even gave a sample to my mom who is also gluten free and she loved it too. I really recommend the gluten free brownie recipes posted, they are so much healthier than using white flour and you don’t sacrifice on taste at all! Thanks Bobbi!

    • Thanks for your honesty Beck, I really value your opinion!!! I will make the gluten-free ones often. Warm with ice cream sounds really good too me!!!! Thanks for sharing with your mom as well! Fun!

  3. You “crack” me up!!!!
    You’ve “yolked” me into trying homemade brownies, even though I vowed to never attempt homemade brownies again.
    Love it! Thanks Bobbi!!!

    • Oh, boy, now I am NERVOUS!!!! I hope you enjoy them!!! I was sick of trying homemade brownies too and finally just decided that boxed brownie mix was the best. Well. I made these, and I am hooked on them and have been making them for at least a year. After they are cooled, cover well, they get better and better! PLEASE let me know what you think, if you try them!!!…..BEING honest please!!!!

  4. I am totally stuck on my Betty Crocker red box. When I have time, I have a dry mix that I make myself, and it’s pretty good – but it doesn’t have butter or coffee in it, so maybe that is the secret. So you have talked me into trying these. Maybe even the gluten-free ones 🙂 If nothing else, I’m sure they’ll make a fabulous brownie sundae 🙂

  5. I was so excited to see homemade brownies b/c I have had disastrous results, too, and vowed never again. Then I did a box mix not long ago and was not impressed-not sure what I did wrong! Made these for a family get together with ice cream AND your fudge 🙂 and was a hit! My sis-in-law even asked if it was a Ghiradelli brownie mix-now THOSE are tasty so high compliments to you, Bobbi!!

Leave a Reply

