Our Favorite Pancakes

Standard

 This one is our favorite “from scratch” pancake recipe. It is good and will disappear FAST! I like mine with butter and sugar ~ oh and strawberries IF I have them. My kids….ugh…they like theirs with lots of syrup, chocolate chips and sprinkles (that which I am in control of the sprinkling…..). To each their own, it would be boring if we all ate our pancakes the same!  HOWEVER you like to serve yours, I sure hope your family enjoys! I would enjoy hearing if you try these and what you think about them!!!

* I sometimes add a touch of wheat flour, instant oats or wheat germ into the dry ingredients to get some goodness into my kids….makes me feel better about the chocolate and sugar. Just add to taste, I find you do not want to go over board with the wheat flour (I use about 1/4 c.), or else they may become dense.

food 207

“Buttermilk” Pancakes
1 1/2 c. milk
3 TB. vinegar
2 c. flour
1/4 c. white sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp.  baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1/4 c. butter, melted
cooking spray
Combine the milk with the vinegar in a small bowl and set aside for 5 minutes to “sour”. Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Whisk the egg and butter into the “soured” milk.  Pour this over the flour mixture and mix just till lumps are gone. Heat your griddle to about 350*, spray with cooking spray. Pour 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto griddle, cook till bubbles appear on surface. Flip with spatula and cook till light brown on the other side.  Serve warm with butter or syrup OR whatever you like! Serves 4-6. Enjoy!

Recipe from the cookbook “Tried and True”.

This recipe linked to Six Sister’s Stuff.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

12 responses »

  1. My kids love pancakes too, it’s their favorite breakfast food. What I do is put a couple of tablespoons of ground flax into the batter for added nutrition. I add this to oatmeal as well and they have never noticed! We moms always have tricks up our sleeves don’t we when it comes to trying to make it healthier:)

    • Ground flax would be a nice addition as well! 🙂 I recently got a coffee bean grinder so I can grind my own flax seed MUCH cheaper that way! Thanks for the tip! Yes, it IS up to us to get our kids to eat healthy! (Nice that we can sneak “good for you” stuff in their food without them EVEN knowing!)

  2. I’ve been looking for a good pancake recipe from scratch. The ones I’ve tried always have buttermilk in them or the recipe doesn’t turn out that great. Thanks for posting. I might make these tomorrow morning! Yum!

    • I had tried lots of “from scratch” pancakes as well, I tried this one and my search stopped. We like it, let me know what your family thinks!!!! The most important part it to let the milk and vinegar set for 5 minutes to get a homemade buttermilk! Thanks 🙂

  3. John and I really liked these, even if we had them for dinner) 🙂 We think they taste like restaurant pancakes! Thanks again for another hit.

    • Glad you guys like as much as we do!!!! Pancakes for breakfast is REAL real good!!!! You are welcome. Thanks for another fun comment “John”. 🙂

  4. Bobbi, I made these for dad today and they were SOOO good! I may never buy mix again….best part? dad really liked them too 😉

Leave a Reply

