Homemade Butterfingers, Bacon Cheese Topped Chicken & Easy Candied Sweet Potatoes

Standard

Before I get to the Aldi fun and recipes, I wanted to know IF anyone is looking for a specific recipe for me to share. NOW, let’s note that I am not someone who will make Sushi or Liver & Onions or “gourmet” things. I am a fairly basic cook/baker. But I would love suggestions of recipes you would like to try. For example, I REALLY want to make a good Chicken and Dumpling Recipe ~ I haven’t really tried…..but want too! (Maybe someone can direct me to a good recipe ??? OR send me one at favoritefamilyfoods@ hotmail.com ~ oh. Nice subtle hint huh?!?!!) THANKS!

Also. Is it TOO much when I share more than one recipe, like today’s 3 recipes? Should I try to stick to just one recipe each post?? Thanks again!

And now……..

Aldi sales for Oct.  31 ~ Nov.(!!)6.

(Not a complete sale list, just some items  that caught my eye, check out the ads here to see all that Aldi has to offer this week! Be sure to check out the Holiday Catalog and the Recipe book, found here as well.)

* Milk Chocolate Almond Bark and Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips. (OK, so these are NOT in the flyer BUT I HAD to share this ↓ recipe with you ASAP and I know Aldi carries these items this time of year, so, YEAH ~ I was able to share it with you on my Aldi post day!!!!!)

*Fresh Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts are on special buy for $1.69 per lb.  I am happy to share one of my favorite recipes ↓ with you today, my family enjoys it too!

* 29 oz. can of Cut Sweet Potatoes is $1.29 ~ I use this to make the LAST ↓ recipe below!

* Canned Pumpkin is 99¢ for a 15 oz. can. Stock up now!!! (Though they are a winter seasonal item, so we should see canned pumpkin for a while yet! High fives all around!) I CANNOT wait to share some more pumpkin recipes! Oh, or go ahead and make some  Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins or Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins  for breakfast and snacks!

* Aldi carries a variety of Stuffing Mix (the boxes) or Bagged Stuffing, prices range from 89¢ – $1.99. Great for holiday baking! (or any night……)

* Shredded Cheese ~ mozzarella or mild cheddar ~ in a 32 oz. bag is $5.89.

* Crescent Rolls, are marked down to 99¢! Time to try Ham & Cheese Crescent Rolls!

* Brown & Serve Rolls (12 oz. for 99¢) or Sweet Multi-Grain or Potato Rolls (20 oz. for $1.99).

* Banana’s are 29¢ per lb.

* Tangerines (GREAT and easy for kids to peel!) are $1.29 for a 3 lb. bag.

* An 8 oz. Cheese Block (assorted varieties) is $1.49.

* Regular or Unsalted Butter, 16 oz. for $1.99.

*Cream Cheese, 8 oz. for 99¢ .

And now for recipes!!!!

Homemade Butterfingers

(Update. I have since made this again. Some notes. DO NOT double, THAT did not work out for me….it was much too hard. ALSO. It is BEST to melt the candy corn low and slow ~ like in a double boiler, IF you let your candy corn melt and bubble….you will be making HARD candy, which will result in hard candy bars. Someone had to mess up….GLAD it was me!!)

I saw this recipe a while ago,  I thought “no way” ~ maybe I will try it someday. There is no WAY it could taste like THE BEST CANDY BAR EV.ER. Seriously. No way could THE BEST CANDY EV.ER. be the main ingredient.  2 things.
* I used to walk up town to the BEST drugstore and buy Butterfingers and ONLY Butterfingers (well and the occasional 5th Avenue, which is similar to Butterfingers). Even though there was about 33 hundred OTHER candies to choose from…..
* Candy Corn is my weakness. IT is my “hide in the pantry  fill my mouth full AFTER I just told my kids “no candy”  weakness.
So…..it WAS time to try this recipe!! (Thanks to a friend for giving me that extra PUSH to try it!!! Thanks to my 2 friends for tasting it!!!)

Grab the recipe here at Plain Chicken. YOU WILL WANT TO. Now some things.

* It does not get hard (ALTHOUGH I just made it a few hours ago, IF time does something to it, like make it harder, I will update this), like the true Butterfinger, BUT it is flaky like the real thing.  (Note and Apology * your dishes DO need to soak for a while to get off all the melted candy yumminess! Sorry.)

* I used a 9″ square pan, lined with foil (not greased). I then chilled it to set. Then cut with a pizza cutter, into mini candy bar sized pieces.  Chilled again. Then dipped in melted chocolate. Chilled to set.

* I used Semi-Sweet chocolate, my tasters (heehee) thought they might like the Milk Chocolate Candy Coating (or Almond Bark) better. I will ALWAYS choose semi-sweet. I just like it better….you use what you like better, the milk chocolate might be closer to the original Butterfinger though.

* Thanks to NO ONE for sharing this recipe with me 2 years ago. Sad. I could have been making this for 2 years already…..no sense in wasting time, I plan on snagging up some more bags of candy corn so I can make more batches. Yum.

* Since this said recipe was first shared here 2 years ago, I am assuming the bags of candy corn were bigger (16 oz.)  then they are now (12 0z.) ~ So you need ~
12 oz. candy corn
12 oz. peanut butter (about 1 1/4 c.)
12 oz. chocolate of choice (I used semi-sweet, melted with 1 TB. shortening.)
* Thanks to Plain Chicken for a GREAT recipe. Jot it down here and ENJOY!!!

Bacon Cheese Topped Chicken

My favorite part about this dish is the crispy bottom on the pan that holds the cheese/Dijon/bacon bits that fell OFF the chicken and browned so pretty on the pan…..don’t tell. IT is the chef’s secret!!! (PS. There IS chicken buried under all that cheesy bacony yumminess!)

* Remember this has Dijon in it, IF you do not like the flavor of Dijon you probably will not like this dish. IF you are unsure IF you like the flavor, do not pour ALL of the marinade over top ~ you will still get some of the flavor from the chicken.

Bacon Cheese Topped Chicken 
1/2 c. Dijon mustard
1/2 c. honey
4 1/2 tsp. oil. divided
1/2 tsp. lemon juice
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
dash of paprika
2 c. fresh sliced mushrooms
1 c. shredded monetary jack cheese
1 c. shredded cheddar cheese
8 bacon strips, partially cooked
2 tsp. fresh parsley (I sprinkle with dried parsley)

Combine the Dijon mustard, honey, 1 1/2 tsp. oil and lemon juice. Mix well. Pour 1/2 c. of this in a large ziplock bag and add the chicken. Mix around. Seal bag and chill for 2 hours. SAVE the remaining marinade.

Drain the marinade and brown the chicken in remaining oil till  brown. Transfer to a 7″ x 11″ baking dish. Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper and paprika. In the same skillet, saute the mushrooms till tender.

Pour remaining marinade over chicken, top with mushrooms, cheeses and bacon (criss-cross over top of the chicken). Bake, uncovered, @ 375 for 20-25 minutes. Top with parsley. Enjoy.

Recipe from a Taste of Home cookbook.

Easy Candied Sweet Potatoes

Sweet potato season is here! (Or at least, Fall and Thanksgiving makes me think about sweet potatoes more….)  Here is a different sorta sweet potato dish, one that does NOT call for marshmellows…..though NOT complaining about that good ol’ side dish!

* I have also made this using 4-5 “fresh” (what else do we call them?)  sweet potatoes. (Actually prefering it with real sweet potatoes.) I just simmer the whole things in a pot of water till JUST tender, not over cooked. Cool a bit, peel, slice, then proceed on with the recipe.

* SORRY about this picture….IT.IS. of leftovers…..sorry.

Easy Candied Sweet Potatoes 
2 – 29 oz. cans of sweet potatoes
1/4 c. butter
1/4 c. flour
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. milk
shake or 3 of pepper
dash of salt

Drain the sweet potatoes, I like to rinse too. Spread in a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Combine the butter, flour, and brown sugar ~ beat to combine. Add the milk, pepper and salt. Till all mixed well. Sometimes if my butter is too cold it will look sorta chunky and not so smooth, that is fine, it will all melt through and be just dandy. Pour this butter mixture over the sweet potatoes. Toss gently.

Bake @ 350° for about 20 – 25 minutes. (Stir after about 15 minutes.) Then broil till nice and bubbly and caramelized, this will not take to long, maybe 3-5, minutes ~ just keep your eye on it!!!

Serves 8. (Just my guess.) I am SO bad at serving sizes….

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

12 responses »

  1. Yumm, these look good for this time of year! And I think 3 recipes is good and very impressive,though I definitely wouldn’t expect it every time (that has to be a ton of work for you!) And though I don’t have a specific recipe in mind, do you ever use Pomegranate? I see it in the stores now and don’t know what to use it in!

    • UMM. I was at Aldi one day and a lady was RAVING about the Pomegranates, so I grabbed some, got home and had such a HARD time with them that and then they were so so so tart, I WAS not sure what to do with them….since then I have been sorta chicken of them! I need to give it a whirl…..um. I will let you know IF I try something with them! THANKS!!! (FYI. I have lots of recipe typed up and pictures taken already so when I put a post together (with the exception of the Aldi days) it really is just a click and a copy and a paste and wala, a recipe appears! So it does take time, but not a ton…..plus it is fun to spend some time during my free time doing what I enjoy ….no hard work there!!) Thanks!!

      • Ok, thanks for making me feel better about being selfish and wanting 3 recipes 😛 And yes, if you ever get creative with Pomegrantes, let me know!

  2. Any who loves Butterfinger candy bars MUST try this recipe, I have not made them myself but was fortunate enough to taste one of Bobbi’s and they are fabulous!! They have a very similar texture as real Butterfingers, unbelievable! I liked the semi-sweet chocolate but the milk chocolate would be good too I’m sure. Really can’t wait to try this one Bobbi! I am going to use milk chocolate to please you-know-who;)

  3. I agree with stacy the more the merrier…and I loved the butterfinger and was absolutley stymied by the news that corn candy was the ingrediant …the magic ingredient…I also enjoyed your corn candy confession…..and i have copied the chicken recipe as well….yummmmmm is in my future!!!!

  4. Just a little help for all who try the “Butterfingers” spray your bowl and spoon before microwaving and clean up is easy 🙂

Leave a Reply

