Some Snacking Options……

Standard

food 957

Looking for a GREAT snack that is not only quick to make, quick to grab and not too bad for you!????    I have talked about making this for.ever.  It just took doing it once to become addicted. We all enjoy grabbing this for a snack! The best part it that you can make it ALL your own! So, this really isn’t a “recipe” per say ~ more of a “method” lets say. Add what you want!! Take out what you don’t!!!

Please let us know your combinations!!! Maybe it will inspire us! THANKS!

Trail Mix    

nuts (whole almonds, mixed nuts, cashews, etc.)
peanuts (dry roasted, lightly salted, cocktail, etc.)
dried fruit (raisins, craisins, mixed dried fruit, apricots ~ cut up,  etc.)
M & M’s (of course…….or chocolote chips,  dark chocolate, peanut butter chips, vanilla chips, etc. will work too!!!)
yogurt covered raisins (Aldi…..WHY have you not had these for weeks?!?!?!? OH, this past week they had them!! So, below is another batch I made. ↓)

Mix as much or as little of the ingredients you like. Store in a covered container and ENJOY!!!!

food 955

Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins

food 778

I have been telling a few people about this recipe, TIME to share it!!! We have these with “breakfast for dinner” or for breakfast…..or for snack…….. I enjoy knowing that there is wheat flour in it……sneaking some goodness into my kids without them knowing it! I hope you too make these and enjoy! Grab the recipe here at Kats’ Kitchen. (PLEASE enjoy her picture, mine really wasn’t so very good, sorry……)

My tips for the muffins!!!

* I use 4 TB. oil and about 4 TB. applesauce.
* I find that this recipe yields more then 12, closer to 16 muffins I would say.
* I like to brush the muffins with the butter instead of dipping.

Happy Baking!!! 🙂

OH, another thing!!! PLEASE, if you are trying to figure out the whole snacking- healthy-fill-you-up-sorta-thing……THEN please, check this recipe out from Lisa at Cooking Up a Sale.  My kids and I enjoyed this yesterday as a snack. I served it with apples, though thought that graham crackers would be a fabulous dipper as well!!! Though, I was encouraging my kids to eat their fruit AND BOY DID THEY!!!

Light (er) Apple Dip

food 956

The taste is much like Peanut Butter  Gram-wiches, so if you liked the taste of those, you will enjoy the dip as well.

She has GREAT tips on her post, please take the time to check it out. ESPECIALLY the tip about “Grab and Go Apple Slices! I ended up using plain Greek yogurt and added a touch of vanilla extract.

Happy Snacking!!! What is YOUR favorite thing to snack on???

13 responses »

  1. Yum, love trail mix! Also, I need to make those donut muffins again, forgot about that recipe! And your pictures are beautiful, don’t let anyone (including yourself) tell you otherwise! 🙂

    • Thanks! While I have you…..a question for you! Do you use 4 TB. of oil or 8 TB. of oil or in between??? I usually go 4 TB. oil and 4 TB. applesauce…. just curious on what you do! 🙂 Oh, wait, I am going to go on YOUR blog and ask you!!! 😉

      • That is a good question, it has been too long since I have made these and have NO idea! I like your idea of 4 oil and 4 applesauce!

      • The applesauce is my addition. I would NOT recommend using just 4 TB. oil, I think they might end up being dry. If you use 8 TB. oil, you do not need to add the applesauce ~ it is just there to cut the amount of oil used. I sure hope I am making sense. THANKS for asking!!!

    • I am not sure why the recipe calls for 4-8 TB. oil. Maybe the 4 TB. option is for a lower fat muffin??? Though I think that might be a bit dry……. I have always done 4 TB. oil and 4 TB. applesauce. The applesauce is replacing some of the oil.

  2. The donut muffins were a hit! Great recipe b/c all basic ingredients that I always have in the house. I like to add these and breads in lunches just for something different so we are good for a few days. Thanks again!!

  3. Bobbi, I made the apple dip for some teacher friends at an after school meeting. Big hit!! I loved it, and they loved it. Yum!

  4. Yum, yum trail mix! I made one the other day that looks a lot like yours. A great filler in lunches. Bought BIG bags of nuts and raisins so good for two large batches. I love the snack section, keep it up!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

