Homemade Cream “of” Soup

Standard

I do realize that we are NOT in soup season, but I do still use soup IN recipes ~ so I wanted to 1st share this with you and then comes the recipes I have used it in!

I am not against “cream soup in a can” ~ I just really really like to make things harder for myself…oh….JUST KIDDING. I just really like to make things homemade. I have tried 3-4 “cream of” recipes and was always less then thrilled. Tried this one and LOVED. Great flavor and easy all rolled in to one “can” of soup. This isn’t a soup to eat for dinner, though IF you want it for dinner then add milk or water I would say ~ about 2 c. is my uneducated guess. This recipe is to be used when a recipe calls for “1 can of undiluted cream of ____ soup.” Enjoy and let me know what flavors you try and IF you like or don’t like!! (I have done celery and chicken.)

*When we have chicken for dinner,I set aside a piece to shred, then freeze in little 1/4 c. containers for when I make this soup.

*I found that I like to use 1 bouillon cube and 1/2 c. water INSTEAD of stock, I always have bouillon in the house and not always stock. So because I changed that, I took the salt out. To see the original recipe check it out here at Group Recipes. If you taste it at the end and think it needs salt, then by all means, add it!

Homemade Cream “of” Soup  
2 TB. butter
1/4 c. flour
1/2 c. hot water
1 bouillon cube, flavor choice up to you
1/2 c. milk
pepper
1/4 c. “of” ingredient (celery, broccoli, potato, chicken, mushroom, onion, etc.)
Put hot water in a bowl and dissolve the bouillon cube in it. Set aside. Melt butter in sauce pan and add “of” ingredient and cook till soft, not just tender, soft. Remembering to be sure the chicken is cooked all the way through! Then add the flour ~ cook and stir, it WILL be lumpy and that is OK. Add hot water/bouillon mix a little at a time and whisk well.  Bring to a boil and cook till thickened. Add the milk and pepper. Heat through. This is equal to one can of soup.

Recipe adapted from Group Recipes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. This is a very valuable recipe! Sometimes you run out of those ingredients that you should always have on hand – pick up at Aldi when you are there, or if on sale at the local grocery store…Who runs out of canned cr. soup anyway???!! Well, I did and really the store for me is only a block away-hehe 🙂 But, when not on sale, I, of course refuse to buy! But I remember you posting this so was thrilled to find all those basic ingredients were in the house! Very simple and will definitely try again. I did chicken b/c I was working on a chicken lasagna and had the chicken all cooked and cut up so could throw that small amount right into the soup.

Leave a comment