Brocoli Salad

Standard

On this Memorial Day holiday weekend, I wanted to share with you a “cook out” fun food. Since my grill has been down and out pretty much since I made Grilled Asparugas~ I couldn’t give you a grilled food SO salad it is! Good news, our grill is BACK in commission thanks to a good friend and some shiny new parts! Look for grilled delicacies to come….I  hope!! Hope your weekend was wonderful ~ whether you were with family or friends, at home or at work, planting a garden or putting in your boat or WHATEVER you did!

I had a main dish plan one night for dinner, wasn’t sure what to make with it, per say. My friend was talking about this salad, how it was quick to put together, I thought ~ “I have broccoli!” and there was my answer to the dinner dilemma! Pretty sure I left the kids in her yard, ran home and put it together and was  back in 5 minutes.  I have made some additions, those are in italic.

Broccoli Salad  
2 bunches of brocoli
3 green onions (1/4 red onions)
12 slices of bacon (GOOD handful I already had cooked and crumbled)  
1/2 c. raisins    
1/2 c. of THIS  topping that I had in the freezer…add JUST before serving. (Or sunflower seeds or any nut can be added for a nice crunch)
1/2 c. cheddar cheese, shredded   

Dressing:  
1/3 c. sugar
1 c. Miracle Whip
2 TB. vinegar
Cut the brocoli up to nice small pieces and put in a bowl along with the onions, bacon, raisins and cheese. (crunchy nut topping of choise should be added just before serving.) Combine the dressing ingredients and mix well. Chill both salad and dressing in fridge till ready to serve. Combine the two 5 minutes before serving.

Recipe from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor and much thanks Marijo.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

