Spinach Tortellini Salad

Standard

It’s Aldi sale time ALREADY!!!
Sale runs from May 30 – June 5.

* Cheese Tortellini, $2.49 each. Try this delicious salad ~ Spinach Tortellini Salad. Aldi also has fresh spinach, parmesan cheese, bacon, cherry tomatoes (maybe?) and ranch salad dressing for this salad!

* Wheat Round Crackers are great for dipping into Cheesy Spinach and Artichoke Dip. $1.79 each.

My sis-in-law (Mary) told me about a salad she really enjoys and it sounded real good. I went to my cookbooks and couldn’t find one that sounded just the same, so took a recipe I had, changed it a bit, made it, really enjoyed it and talked to her and found out it was VERY close to hers!!  GREAT summer dinner salad.

*Add some cut up grilled chicken and yala….a one bowl dinner on a HOT night!

*Mary uses Italian dressing, and adds salt & pepper to taste. (Am I forgetting anything???)

Tortellini Salad  
spinach leaves, about 4 oz. fresh
small red onion, thinly sliced
pkg. refrigerated tortellini (8-10 oz.)
1 c. or so of cherry tomatoes, halved or left whole
6 pieces of bacon, cooked and crumbled
parmesan cheese
Ranch dressing
Cook the tortellini according to the package directions, drained and cooled. Layer the spinach, onion, tortellini, tomatoes and bacon in a bowl, top with parmesan cheese. Chill till ready to eat. Serve dressing on each individual serving ~ don’t pour dressing over the WHOLE thing, else any leftovers will get soggy. Leftovers make a GREAT lunch!!

Thanks to Mary for telling me about a great recipe!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. This is a yummy salad! Your father ate the leftovers in his lunch with french dressing and his favorite little sesame sticks!

    • “Father” (I find it comical you called him that…) had a GREAT idea (Oh..it may have been you) with the sesame sticks and french dressing. Glad it was enjoyed!

  2. Bobbi–I wish you could just make me a calender of salads for my summer sustinance…this one sounds yum!!

Leave a Reply

