Crock Pot Cooking (Scroll down a bit to see a number of recipes!)

Standard

I enjoy cooking with my crock pot, do you?? I enjoy having meals ready for me in the freezer, do you?? Both of those led  me to this post. I hope you find it helpful. Let me know IF you like this, I would be happy to do it again IF I know a lot of you have enjoyed it!!

I hope this is helpful to you in the busy weeks ahead! These recipes took me about 1 1/2 hours to put together. Not too shabby…….

SO. The layout of this post will be different from my others. I will start with pictures of each recipe, with the name of the recipe UNDER the picture. Then we will have the recipes all grouped together, for your copying and pasting pleasure IF you want too……I just am not sure how to set up a “print friendly” button or tab or link yet, sorry. THEN we will have the order that I did my prep, though you can ignore that if you wish. THEN you will see a grocery list. You may have 90% of the stuff already in your home as most of them are staples, YES!! But I thought a grocery list would be a bit helpful as well, maybe.

Happy prepping/freezing/crock-potting!!

Just a few more notes:

  • I have included 1 Dessert, 1 Hot Fruit Salad (a yummy side dish) and 1 Appetizer. I ATTEMPTED a Vegetable Side Dish,  but if failed the freezer test…..miserably. 
  • As you see it is mostly chicken recipes, including no pre-cooking of meat ~ making it nice and easy. There is one pork recipe, though there was supposed to be two. The other one failed the freezer test…..miserably.  The pork recipe might be good with chicken though……don’t quote me however! 😉
  • Be sure to thaw the frozen meals COMPLETELY before cooking.  I recommend taking it out of the freezer and popping it in your fridge the morning BEFORE you plan on cooking it.
  • Freezer safe bags work the best, they do not leak as quick and protect from freezer burn.
  • Some of the recipes have ingredients that need to be added JUST before cooking and NOT to be frozen. I will have those items highlighted in the recipe and they are NOT included on the grociery list.  PLEASE make note of that!!!
  • I cooked these recipes in my 4 1/2 – 5 qt. crock pot, not sure on the size exactly.
  • The Crisp, Fruit Salad and Fondue serve a lot!!! The rest served my family of 2 adults and 4 kids ~ with some leftovers at times.

Here we go!!!!

food 776
Hot Fruit Salad 

food 767
Very Berry Cherry Crisp

food 786
Cheesy Pizza Fondue

food 769
Chicken Tortilla Soup 

food 765
Lime Chicken Tacos

food 775
California Chicken 

food 795
BBQ Chicken Dinner 

food 787Ranch Pork Chops

The Recipes!!!

Hot Fruit Salad 

21 oz. apple pie filling
21 oz. cherry pie filling
20 oz. can of pineapple tidbits, drained (I used 2 cans of fruit cocktail, drained)
16 oz. can sliced peaches, drained
8 1/2 oz. can of apricots (I skipped, didn’t have, though it is real good in it)
11 oz. can mandarin oranges, drained
1/4 c. sugar (more or less to taste)
1 tsp. cinnamon

Combine all your ingredients in a large Ziplock bag (or two bags, for two!! separate dinners! As this batch yields more than WE can eat at one meal!! It is good to pack in kids lunches though……) Freeze.  Thaw completely when ready to cook. Cook in crock pot on low for 4 hours, or till hot. Serve and Enjoy!

Recipe from Becky.

Very Berry Cherry Crisp 
6 c. TOTAL of any berry (I used 3 c. blueberries, 2 c. strawberries and 1 c. cranberries)
21 oz. can cherry pie filling
1/3 c. sugar
1/4 c. water
1 TB. quick cook Tapioca (I used a heaping TB. of instant Tapioca Pudding powder this time, did not thicken it as much…but worked OK)
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
3/4 c. oats
1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. brown sugar
pinch of salt
1/4 c. butter

Combine the berries, pie filling, 1/3 c. sugar, 1/4 c. water and Tapioca in a large Ziplock bag.  In a bowl, combine the cinnamon, oats, flour, brown sugar and pinch of salt ~ cut in the butter and put in a smaller Ziplock bag. Freeze. Thaw before cooking.  Pour the fruit mixture in the bottom of your crock pot and top with crumbly yumminess. Cook in low for 3 1/2 – 4 hours. Serve with ice cream and ENJOY!

Cheesy Pizza Fondue 

1 jar spaghetti sauce (about 24 oz.)
2 c. shredded mozzarella cheese
1/4 c. shredded parmesan cheese
2 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. dried onion
1/4 tsp. garlic powder

Mix everything together in a large Ziplock bag. Freeze. Thaw completely before cooking. Pour into crock pot and cook on low for 4-6 hours, stir once or twice. Serve with bread sticks, bread cubes or pizza! Enjoy!! (The leftovers  make for a great pizza sauce to use on your homemade pizza!)

Recipe from the Tried and True Cookbook, page 59.

Chicken Tortilla Soup 
1 lb. chicken breasts
15 oz. can diced tomatoes
10 oz. enchilada sauce
1 med. onion, chopped
4 oz. can of diced green chilies
2 garlic cloves, minced
4 chicken bouillon cubes
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1-2 bay leaves (be sure to remove BEFORE serving)
10 oz. frozen corn
1 can black beans, rinsed and drain
4 c. water (to be added just before cooking)
cilantro, for topping
sour cream, for topping
shredded cheddar cheese, for topping
crushed tortilla chips, for topping

Combine all but the water and topping ingredients in a large Ziplock bag. Freeze. Thaw. Pour contents in a crock pot and add the water. Cook on low for about 6-8 hours. Take chicken out and shred,  place chicken back into crock pot. Stir. Keep on low till ready to serve. Serve. Top with toppings of choice. ENJOY!

Recipe from Stacie, with a few changes.

Lime Chicken Tacos 

1 1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
3 TB. lime juice
1 TB. chili powder
1 c. salsa
1 c. frozen corn
handful of chopped cilantro, opt.

Combine all in a large Ziplock bag. Freeze. Thaw. Pour in crock pot and cook on low for 5 hours, shred chicken. Heat on low till ready to serve. Serve on tortillas with all your families favorite taco toppings.  ENJOY!

California Chicken 
2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 c. orange juice
1/3 c. chili sauce
2 TB. soy sauce
1 TB. molasses
1 tsp. dry mustard
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 green pepper, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
11 oz. can of mandarin oranges, drained (to be added when cooking) ((I will skip next time, my family was not keen on the oranges, so this is an opt. ingredient.))

Combine all in a large Ziplock bag, except the oranges. Freeze. Thaw. Pour in crock pot and cook on low 6-8 hours.  Serve over rice and enjoy!

Recipe adapted from “Fix It and Forget IT” Slow Cooker Cooking.

BBQ Chicken Dinner 

1 1/2 – 2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 green pepper, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
3-4 carrots, peeled and chopped
2 TB. Worcestershire sauce
2 TB. brown sugar
1 1/2 c. ketchup
1 1/2 c. water
1/2 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. salt

Combine all ingredients in a large Ziplock bag, freeze. Thaw when you are ready to cook. Pour into crock pot and cook on low for 7-8 hours. Serve over noodles. Enjoy!

Ranch Pork Chops 

4 thick cut pork chops
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 pkg. dry ranch dressing mix
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 c. white wine (or you may use water or chicken broth)
1/2 tsp. pepper

Combine all  in a large Ziplock bag. Freeze. Thaw when ready to cook. Pour into crock pot and cook on low for 6 (if thin) – 8 (if thicker) hours. Serve over potatoes, makes a yummy gravy. Enjoy!

Wow! That looks like a lot, but really it IS easy and relatively quick considering how many meals you will be enjoying!!! The game plan….

  • I did all my recipe organizing one day, making sure I had a good list as to what I needed to buy and what I had in the pantry/fridge/freezer. 
  • Shop.  Be sure to set aside the ingredients you bought special for your “prep” day ~ so they do not got used. I will note this for next time, as I had a last-minute scramble cause I had used an ingredient I needed for another dinner..
  • I work better in the morning. So I knew I would do my meal making then. IF you like to be organized, then take some time to pull out the pantry ingredients the night before, it will shave off some time the next day.
  • Label your bags. With the name of recipe, any additional ingredients needed. (ex. *add 4 c. water when ready to cook*.) ALSO be sure to add how long it needs to cook, so you do not need to search down the recipe ev.ery.time.  (This can be done the day before too.)
  • START with the fruit/dessert/appetizer. They require no chopping, no raw meat and are just really easy.
  • Seal bags well and freeze.
  • Clean up.
  • Get out your veggies.  Chop, add the appropriate amounts to the appropriate bags.
  • Get out the “sauce” ingredients. Add the appropriate ingredients to the appropriate bags.
  • Get out the meat. Add the appropriate amounts to the appropriate bags.
  • Seal well.
  • Freeze.
  • Clean up.
  • Enjoy some easy dinners in the nights/weeks ahead!!

Supplies Needed!!!

Large Ziplock Freezer Safe Bags

Meat

  • 4 thick cut pork chops
  • about 6 1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts ($1.69 per lb. at Aldi this week….FYI!)

Fridge Items

  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 2 c. mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 c. fresh grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 c. orange juice

Fruits and Veggies 

  • 6 c. berries (blueberries, strawberries, cranberries)
  • 2 limes (need 3 TB. lime juice)
  • 3 med. onions
  • 2 medium peppers
  • 3-4 carrots
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • cilantro

Frozen Items

  • 2 (10 oz.)  frozen corn (or 1 (10 oz.) bag + 1 c.)

Pantry Items

  • 21 oz. can apple pie filling
  • 2 (21 oz.) cans cherry pie filling
  • 2 (16 oz.) cans of fruit cocktail OR 20 oz. pineapple chunks
  • 16 oz. can peaches
  • 8 1/2 oz. can of apricots
  • 11 oz. can of mandarin oranges
  • little over 1/2 c. sugar, total
  • 2 TB. brown sugar
  • about 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 TB. quick cooking tapioca
  • 3/4 c. oats (quick cook is fine)
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • about 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • about 2 tsp. pepper
  • 1-2 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp. oregano
  • 1 tsp. dried onion
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic salt
  • 4 chicken bouillon
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 TB. + 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 2 TB. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 TB. soy sauce
  • 1 TB. molasses
  • 24 oz. spaghetti sauce
  • 15 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 10 oz. enchilada sauce
  • 4 oz. diced green chilies
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 c. salsa
  • 1/3 c. chili sauce
  • 1 1/2 c. ketchup
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 pkg. ranch dressing mix, dry
  • 1/2 c. white wine or chicken broth

Please let me know if this is something that is helpful/fun for you and if there is plenty of interest I will do it again!! I found it nice to have freezer meals at my fingertips……Thanks for reading this loongggg one!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

22 responses »

  1. Thanks for doing all this work!!! I hope to prepare some of these soon. I may try your favorite…DEER CHOPS ;), instead of the pork!

  2. I am SO excited a/b this series! As a mom with kids involved with after school activities, I am looking for more crock pot meals. I love the idea of one big cooking day and then a freezer full of meals. I hope you keep this up, and I hope to try some of these soon. Thanks again!!

  3. So Bobbi this is very interesting…..first time I read this I really didn’t read this and assumed you had to cook everything but REALLY reading the recipes I see the meat is raw and you mix everything together in the bag….freeze then just thaw and dump the day of……I like this concept……I like this post……

  4. This is awesome! I have done freezer cooking exchanges with friends before, and LOVED it. But we never did all crockpot meals. I love my crockpot, especially for when my kids have after-school activities (math pentathlon, catechism, sports practice). I will definitely be referring to these recipes and trying out some of them soon! I have a hot fruit salad recipe on my blog too but haven’t tried it in the crockpot. Thanks for all the great ideas!

    • Thank you 🙂 and you are welcome 🙂 I hope you find some recipes your family will enjoy!!! (Yeah, the fruit salad I shared was ment to be in the oven, I just adapted it to cook in the crock pot and really enjoyed it that way!)

  5. THIS is gold to me! I’m a little late but thrilled to have read this!! This kind of thing is perfect for me, i can’t wait to try these out 🙂 Thank you!

    • HA!!! I choked on my water just now…… The FUNNIEST part it that you bought the A-1 and brought it, I put it in the dip….EVEN tasted it first, fully THINKING it was worchestershire sauce…..we served it, unknowing the new ingredient and it TOOK a 3rd party to taste it and say “what is that in the dip?” “Worchestershire sauce” we say……then look at eachother then look in the bag. “A-1”. SO SO funny. I will be sharing that story with I share the dip recipe, for sure! Thanks for the laugh!!

      • Yes we sure make for a fun team! I’m glad my lack of attn to detail can provide for some fun memories 🙂 I also wanted to let you know that we LOVED the cheesy pizza fondue! It lasted for a few different meals for the 2 of us, including my first homemade pizza for my husband. He loved it…thank you!

      • Yeah! That pizza dip does seem right up my brothers alley! High fives on making homemade pizza, I will look forward to hearing more about that some day!!!

  6. trying the lime chicken tacos tonight! I didn’t have lime juice in the house when i ‘froze’ them, so I had to make sure to pick that up!:) I’m regretting putting them all together, tho…I think I may have liked to add the corn at the end so it wasn’t quite as “cooked” as it may be now…. I had a somewhat similar recipe that had that and black beans…. maybe something I’ll hopefully remember to try next time!:) any more crock pot meals??? 🙂

    • I KNOW what you are saying about the corn, that is why I use frozen, it seems to cook better then the canned. BUT yeah, next time leave it out and add it the last hour or two! That should be fine!!!! 🙂 Yep, I am working on another crock pot freezer thingamabob…..give me a few more weeks and I will get it out to you all!!! Thanks 🙂

  7. A few comments a/b what we have tried! The warm fruit salad was a hit and a wonderful addition to a ham dinner. We also have had the California Chicken and Ranch Pork Chops. My family esp. loved the pork chops-they gobbled them up quite quickly! I had some leftover Twice Baked Pot. Casserole so served that with. So I’ll comment on that recipe as well. I decided to try doing “Loaded Mashed Potatoes” instead and it was SO yummy!!! Since mashed are a favorite here, that is how I will be doing them the most. THANK YOU 🙂

    • You know you are welcome!!! 🙂 Thanks for letting me know what you have tried, fun for me to hear!! I have a number of crock-pot recipes to share yet!!!! I might not squeeze all the recipes into one “crock-pot cooking” post again, but I do look forward to having another prepping, freezing, crock-potting marathon again sometime soon and will be sure to share the prep instructions and ingredient list again!

  8. After making all these recipes last week, we’ve already tried our first one. Happy to report the Ranch Pork Chops were de-licious! I’m not a gravy person, but figured I had to try the sauce on my potatoes because you suggested it, and I was glad I did!
    I also loved that the hard part of the meal was done for me when I got home from work. Thanks for a quick AND delicious supper!

    • Oh, I am SO glad you enjoyed this post! It was fun to do…I really should do it again! 🙂 I, too, do not always enjoy gravy on my potatoes….but this gravy IS yummy! My gravy lovin’ men enjoy it too!

  9. That Fruit dip was a hit! Brought it to Christmas dinner and it went great with the ham! Everyone was asking me what all was in it but I couldn’t remember because I had made it a few weeks ago and simply pulled it out of the freezer to cook it.
    Thanks for a great recipe!

    • I HEARD it was a HIT!!!! 🙂 That was so smart of you to bring it to Christmas!! Mom said it went SO good with the ham! Great idea!! 🙂 Thanks again for commenting AND trying the recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

