Homeade Ice Cream WITHOUT a Machine!

Standard

Spring is great, one day you are eating ice cream in the hot hot sun and the next day you are shivering under blankets with hot cocoa! I think that is why I love it so, never know what you are going to get! During one of those hot spells I made this ice cream, and got to thinking. I like ice cream. Summer and ice cream go together. I am going to start an “all things ICE CREAM series!” Who’s excited?!?! ME. I count for lots of votes, hope you guys like the sounds of it too?!?!? How about ice cream desserts, treats, toppers…whatever my little brain can come  up with? The suspense OH the suspense!!!  I will stretch it through out the summer so look for an ice cream treat every other week or so!! Fun…. Back to THIS ice cream. Yum. Easy. You CAN do it. I like to make it early in the day and that night it is like soft serve ice cream. The next day it is harder, just as good, but just take it out a few minutes before scooping out. Looking forward to sharing EVEN more ice cream recipes and ideas! (PS. My “mix-in” for this batch was Mint Oreos, yummers! You can leave it as plain vanilla IF you like that sorta thing! Pardon the quick melt, boy was it hot!!)

* Start with a cold metal bowl and beaters. (I highly recommend using metal.) Make sure all your ingredients are cold ~ the sweetened condensed milk and “mix-in’s”.

*Your “mix-in’s” can be WHATEVER you want. Choco chips, peanut butter chips, Reese’s Pieces, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, M & M’s, sprinkles, crushed up cookies or brownies, etc. and on and on…..make it fun. I have done most of these and each one was loved! Go crazy and add more than one if you want!!

* I usually don’t count this as a compliment BUT this time it was ~ a while ago my son said “mom this tastes just like the stores!” He made me smile. 🙂

No Machine Needed Ice Cream  
2 c. heavy whipping cream
1/2 c. cold milk
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp. salt
1 c. “mix-in’s” (choco chips, candies, cookies, brownies, nuts, whatever you love!)
In a metal bowl, beat the heavy cream till stiff peaks form ~ this will take 2-3 minutes. You don’t want butter….so don’t let it go and ignore if and fold laundry….Fold in the milk, sweetened condensed milk, salt and vanilla. Fold well. Put in freezer ~ in the metal bowl ~ set your timer for 30 minutes and then stir. Repeat for a total of 2 hours. At this point you can stir in your “mix-in’s” of choice, leave in freezer for 30 more minutes, stir one last time, then put in a container with a lid. Serve with a smile. EVEN if you are hot and crabby…..ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. Yum I didn’t realize your homeade ice cream was this easy..well, at least it looks easier than I ever thought! And so yummy…Am I allowed to request that you follow this up with the recipe for the peanut butter sauce? 🙂

Leave a comment