Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins

Standard

 

I am FULLY aware that it is Spring and NOT Fall, pumpkin belongs to “fall food” ~ BUT I really follow NO food rules. When we want it I make it, when we have the ingredients, I use them. That is what happened here. I saw a container of frozen pumpkin puree in the freezer~ probably left over from last weeks pumkinlishis treat ~ so there was my “what muffin shall I make?” answer. Just wait till I give you a fudge recipe in the summer….my guess is that it WILL happen!

Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins  
1 c. flour
1/2 c. brown sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1/2 salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 egg
3/4 c. canned pumpkin
1/4 c. milk
1/4 c. vegetable oil
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. quick oatmeal, uncooked
1/2 c. craisins
Topping: 
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. flour
1/4 c. quick oatmeal, uncooked
2 TB. butter, not melted
Combine the topping ingredients well and set aside. To make the muffins, mix the brown sugar, egg, pumpkin, milk, oil and vanilla in a bowl. Add the flour, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, salt and baking soda. Mix till combined. Stir in the oatmeal and craisins. Fill muffin cups (grease them well or use liners) about 2/3rds full. Top with topping. Bake @ 350* for 17-19 minutes. (Mine bake in 18, so use this as a guide ~ all ovens back differently!)  yield 12.  Enjoy!

Recipe from my files, with my changes….where it came from ? not sure.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. “mom, these are SO good” “Mom, can I have another one?” These are the comments from the kids today! I thought this a perfect snack especially on this snowy day with school cancelled. Pumpkin muffins are my favorite!! I can’t wait to try the apple streusel ones. Do you ever use regular oatmeal in these? What would that be like? I don’t alway have quick in my house. I keep the regular on hand for granola bars.

    • Oh so fun that they enjoyed the muffins!!! IF they enjoyed those ones they will really really enjoy the Pumpkin Apple ones!!!! 🙂 (At least in my opinion!!) I usually have both quick and old-fashioned oats (rolled or regular or whatever they are called….) on hand. So I am sure I have used both for streusel toppings at different times. The regular oats might be just a bit chewier?? Not sure, let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

