Crispy Oven Baked Tilapia

Standard

I really want to serve my family more fish. Fish is not my very favorite food IF I am being honest.   I am working through this. I have made a few fish flops. No good. It happens.

So, my kids were nervous when I said “fish” was on the menu. My husband was happy. I was going. to. eat. it too!

No need to be nervous. This was a good dish. The kids said “mom, can this be the only fish dish you make?”

BE sure to use Panko bread crumbs. You can use regular bread crumbs BUT you will not get the “crispy” coating that makes this really good.  Panko bread crumbs are Japanese style bread crumbs. They are fabulous.

food 954

Crispy Oven Baked Tilapia 

4 tilapia filets
2/3 c. flour
salt & pepper
2 eggs
1 c. Panko bread crumbs
1/2 tsp. paprika
good dash of garlic powder
1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning

You will need 3 bowls, wide enough to dip the fish in.

Drizzle a 9″ x 13″ pan with olive oil, spread around.

In 1 bowl, put the flour and salt & pepper (mix together). In the 2nd bowl, put the eggs ~ beaten a bit. In 3rd bowl, put the Panko, paprika, garlic powder and Italian seasoning (mix together).

Dip the tilapia filets in the flour, then egg, then Panko.

 Place the fish on the olive oil coated pan. Bake @ 450° for about 12-15 minutes, till fish is flakey and cooked through.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

12 responses »

  1. This looks yummy! I love tilapia and you can find a good deal on it at Aldi. I have an awesome foil wrapped recipe that is quite yummy. It’s on my blog. I definitely need to try this recipe.

  2. I think this looks like the perfect one to try since we don’t do fish at our house but I would like to because I want my children to like it!

    • Yes, it IS a good recipe to start with to introduce your kids to fish with! Maybe cut it up into fish stick shapes for fun!!!! Just an idea…… I just gave myself that fun idea too!!!!

  3. We enjoyed! Very tasty and I even tried the Panko bread crumbs. To be honest, never heard of them before. Always just buy the cheap Aldi kind. Most definitely a difference!! We do like fish over here so will be doing this one again. Thanks again!!

    • You are welcome! I am glad you enjoyed the Panko bread crumbs!!! If you ever bake chicken in regular bread crumbs, try with Panko next time!!!! Yum.

Leave a comment