Almond – Cranberry Bread

Standard

 A Question:

What is the FIRST thing you bake/cook after Thanksgiving in preparation for Christmas??

This bread SCREAMS holidays, with almonds and cranberries, though you can enjoy it all year-long IF you stock up on cranberries now!

Almond – Cranberry Bread 
1/2 c. oil
3/4 c. sugar
1 c. sour cream
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. almond extract
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
2 c. flour
1/2 c. sliced almonds
1 c. chopped fresh or frozen cranberries
2 TB. almonds (for topping)

In a bowl, combine the oil, sugar, sour cream, eggs and almond extract. Set aside.

In another bowl, combine the salt, baking powder and flour. Add to the oil mixture, stirring JUST till incorporated.

Fold in the nuts and the chopped cranberries. Pour batter into a greased 8″ x 4″ loaf pan. Sprinkle with 2 TB. of sliced almonds.

Bake @ 350° for 55-65 minutes, till middle is set (test with a toothpick). Cool 5 minutes in the pan, then take out of pan and place on a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from a Women’s Day Magazine.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

10 responses »

  1. I was just thinking about cranberry bread! Thanks for the recipe. Love you Bobbi and love your blog-thanks for doing it. 🙂

  2. This is such a delicious, moist bread! and so festive, I sprinkled a little sugar on top just for fun! Thanks Bobbi!

    • You are welcome! I am SO glad you enjoyed AND shared your tip about sprinkling sugar on top!! I am SO going to use that next time!!! (Wonder IF I can ban the usage of the “m” word on my blog…… 😉 !?!!)

Leave a comment