Asking for Readers help, please!

Standard

Hello πŸ™‚ Wondering if you guys can share some of YOUR favorite side dish recipes?? I, maybe others too, struggle with coming up with a side dish for dinner some nights. Is there a salad your family really likes? A side dish that goes great with grilled meat? What do you serve with burgers? Grilled chicken? Fish? Etc.

We like the Seven Layer Salad that I just shared, BUT the main ingredient in the dressing is mayo! So I don’t make it too toooo much! Grilled veggies are on the menu a lot, but that is not the kids favorite. Β Mashed potatoes and a veggie, well that’s good too. But….I don’t know…… just wondering if YOU GUYS have any suggestions or favorite recipes to share with all of us!!!!

Go ahead and share it in the comment section OR send an e-mail ~ favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com . I will try to make it and share with the other readers!!! πŸ™‚ Looking forward to hearing from you!!!

THANKS!!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more β€œfavorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. Hi Bobbi! Long time no talk! I’ll quick give you some side dish ideas that are ‘popular’ here in WI πŸ™‚ I’m not a faithful side dish person – it’s hard enough just to get that main meal prepared! But I would actually much rather do sides than the main! When we have ppl over for a fish fry, I make these sides: cheesy hash browns baked beans w ground meat and bacon taco salad oreo salad (this is so unhealthy but so good–my kids love this!) Other sides: any fruit salad (grape salad, mixed fruit w pudding mixture, etc) broccoli/noodle salad icecream salad (icecream and jello basically) snicker salad strawberry fluff snow salad

    These are the sides that come to my mind and whats used a lot around here – you probably have all these recipes already πŸ˜›

    Date: Thu, 14 May 2015 19:15:41 +0000 To: jillvanbemmel@hotmail.com

    • HI!!!! Thanks for your comment! Those are some familiar dishes, but I am glad I asked for ideas BECAUSE I forgot about a few of them!!!! Ever freeze baked beans?? I like to make a huge pot and add all the goodies of beef and bacon, but it seems like a lot to do for a small batch. Last year I froze some and it seemed to work good! Oreo Salad!!! High fives for yumminess!!! Mixed fruit with a pudding mixture, not sure I have ever made, but it sounds really good!!!! Thanks for your note, it was SO good to hear from you! πŸ™‚

  2. Well Bobbi, 3 bean salad is one of my favorite go to side dishes! It is soooo easy to make and delicious. 1 can each of green , wax, and kidney beans, some onion and green pepper. And the dressing is equal parts oil, vinegar and sugar (the recipe says a little more sugar than O & V but you can do to your taste). Sometimes I add celery and cilantro for extra crunch and freshness. Lentil salad is another favorite of mine (but only mine) it is the same dressing as 3-bean and basically the same stuff but lentils instead of beans. Sometimes I add tomatoes and of course cilantro to this too!

    • The 3 Bean Salad is a great recipe, THANKS for reminding us of that. I often forget about that one!!! I have not tried the Lentil version, I am sure I would like…..not sure if the family would. :/ THANKS!!! πŸ™‚

  3. The sweet potato side I was telling you about πŸ˜‰ My kids didn’t love, but they ate, I will make again,and they will be required to eat again! Check before suggested time, if cut small they cook fast. And especially watch the broil time.
    http://www.teeniecakes.com/roasted-parmesan-sweet-potatoes

    We have a hard time with sides here b/c of picky eaters. So I find myself doing more things I would rather not, like jello salads, bread, etc. This time of year when fresh fruit is more affordable, I try to do that more. Grape salad is a favorite. The fruit salad, is that a box of cook vanilla pudding with 2 cups pineapple juice, Jill? My mil does that a lot. Makes a nice dressing for fruit. I would love to hear more ideas, too! Broccoli slaw if your families like, mine doesn’t! BLT Salad is an easy and yummy one: 4 cups lettuce, bite size. 1 large tomato, diced. 4 slices bacon cooked and crumbled. 1/3 c. mayo (may need more if too dry). 2 T grated parmesan cheese. Layer half of lettuce, tom, bacon. Spread half mayo. Sprinkle with half cheese. Repeat. Cover and chill!

    • THANKS Melissa, cannot wait to try the sweet potatoes!!! Thanks for sharing. We do like broccoli slaw here, SO funny how they can be SO picky about certain things but then like the things I think that they would NOT like!!! Silly kids! I am SO excited to try the BLT Salad, seems simple and yummy!! I think it would be a hit here! THANKS. I, personally, have not made that fruit salad with pineapple juice before, sounds real good tho! If i can’t find a similar recipe I will be getting back to you!!! πŸ˜‰ Thanks again Melissa! πŸ™‚

  4. I’m way behind here because I didn’t realize I could subscribe to your blog and obviously haven’t checked it in a while πŸ™‚ Jill’s comment has most of our favorite sides πŸ™‚ lately we have been doing a lot of veggies in the skillet with montreal steak seasoning or fajita seasoning sprinkled on~ YUM. We are pretty boring though…lots of baked potatoes/grapes/peaches/etc. Oh we really liked fried rice! I’m sure there are better recipes for that, I just haven’t looked into it.
    I really like your blog~ I use it often and tonight we are having your oven baked fish…but we like several of them. thanks for posting them, even though it takes time..it’s so much nicer than looking through endless recipes in a cookbook, and knowing you guys like it already! πŸ™‚

    • THANKS for your kind comment!! So fun that you use some of the recipes from here! πŸ™‚ That is really REALLY fun for me to hear!!! Fried rice…..I always forget about that! Thanks for the reminder, we like that too! Baked potatoes….that’s another good one to keep in mind! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

