(Oatmeal) “Snackers”

Standard

food 030

These are a great snack, a great answer to the “I’m huunnngry.” (Which we all hear or say at any moment of any day!!) I keep mine in the fridge, but they are good at room temp too.

Feel free to add things like coconut, craisins, nuts, sunflower seeds, etc. Things you think about when you think of granola bars, those ingredients would work best.  If you add to many “mix-ins” and your Snackers don’t stay together, just add a bit more peanut butter and bit more honey.

Pulse means pulse. Not puree. I had my son help me the first time and I said ~” hit this button a few times, like “”Bump Bump Bump.”” I thought that was clear :/ Well. He went “Buuummmmp Bummmmmmp Bummmmmmmmmmmmp.” So ours was so very well mixed! But still good.  Always an adventure with kids!

This is the version we like best! 🙂 What is YOUR or YOUR families favorite version?

Oatmeal “Snackers”

2 c. old fashioned oatmeal
1 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. honey
1/2 c. raisins (or craisins)
1/2 c. mini chocolate chips
1/4 c. ground flax seed

Pulse the oatmeal, peanut butter, honey and raisins ~ just till combined.  Add the chocolate chips and flax seed and pulse to combine. Chill. When cold, roll into balls AND ENJOY!!!

Recipe adapted from Food Network.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

  1. Energy Bites! My recipe is a bit different just in the amounts of ingredients. Mine has a bit more honey and flaxseed but otherwise its all the same! Always seemed a bit wet so will have to try and cut back on the honey. These are great snacks, and a filling one, too!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Seems everyone has their own version!!! 🙂 FUN FUN to hear others versions!! They are filling…..yet I always go for a 2nd one! 😉 Can’t help it….

  2. Sounds good Bobbi! –And thanks to your blog which is any easy go to for so many recipes…it is the day before Easter and I got a bee in my bonnet to make Hawiian rolls for tomorrow–I knew right where to go to find the recipe !!Thank you!

Leave a Reply

