Chicken & Wild Rice Casserole

Standard

food 117

SO. There are 2 kinds of people in the world. Those who plan their meals in advance (menu planning a week or more ahead and their meals are made (or prepped) WAY before the dinner hour) and there are those who can whip together fabulous meals within minutes of thinking them up (at 5pm mind you). I fall into the first category, I want to be able to be like those in the 2nd category BUT if a day turned out differently then planned or if I just plum forget to plan a meal, I wander. Wander down the hall, wander to the cookbook cabinet, help withย homework, change my socks, wander back to the kitchen, get sidetracked by wonderful stories of the day from the kids, open the fridge. You, know, doing everything but making dinner. Usually I will figure out a cookie to make sometime soon, or I will just stand and eat peanut butter. No closer to getting dinner on the table. A thought! There is the rock hard chicken in the freezer that would be really good to cook up real quick, uh hum. It stays there. (Another bite of peanut butter with chocolate chips on top this time.) I think of the jarred pasta sauce, noodles and bread under the broiler we like. Could use some meatballs or something with it.. (Now…. I may be getting plenty of protein from the peanut butter I am eating…..but that is only me.) Moving on. ย Frozen pizza. Got it. Applesauce. Excellent. Dinner. Nothin’ wrong with a frozen pizza here and there!!!!

This meal fits right into the “make ahead meal makers” out there. Make it the day/night before you need it, make it the morning of ~ or HEY!!! ~ you can EVEN make it JUST before you NEED to bake it, those of you who are good at that!! Awesome.

This meal along with a few others got me out of a dinner rut! Ever have those??

Enjoy this casserole, it is kid friendly because it has really simple delicious flavors. Leftovers re-heat good too!!!

ON a side note. Way back when, when I started this blog, I was looking forward to “chatting” about food with you all!! I STILL want to do that, BUT I seem to be the only one chatting. ๐Ÿ˜‰ SO don’t forget to tell us about things your family likes or things you have tried ~ perhaps off of Pinterest??? Tell us IF we should or shouldn’t try something!! Tried and true recipes are the bestest!!! ย I know many of us are not “commenters” ~ but hey! Shoot me an e-mail ย ~ favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com ~ and tell me about it there!!! ย ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I really do want to hear from you guys. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been wondering if I should keep this blog going……does anyone read? Try things? There are so very many fabulous blogs out there. I just wonder………

Oh, yah, back to the recipe!!!! ย Pretty sure I saw it when I searched for “easy dinner ideas”. Recipe came from Julie’s Eats & Treats ~here is the recipe with a few of my extra notes! Enjoy!!

Chicken & Wild Rice Casseroleย 

1 lb. chicken, cooked and shredded (I used about 2 heaping cups)
6 oz. box of Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice
1/2 c. sour cream
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 tsp. minced onion flakes
salt & pepper to taste

Prepare the rice according to package directions. (I like to cook it a few minutes less than the instructions say.) Combine all the ingredients together, pour into a greased 9″ sq. pan. Bake @ 350ยบ for 30 minutes, if it is cold bake it closer to 45 minutes. Serve with a veggieย and ENJOY!!!

Recipe adapted from Julie’s Eats & Treats.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more โ€œfavorite family foodsโ€. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

18 responses »

  1. Well Bobbi I always enjoy your posts, The recipes make me hungry and I wish I would make more of them . But I am fortunate to get to taste many of these recipes when I eat lunch at your house and I do believe I had some of this chicken rice casserole leftover and it was delicious! Dad might even like it too! And your stories always make me smile…….thanks

    • Yep, you did try this. Tho IF I remember correctly, I only saved you a half a bite or so! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yep, dad might like this ~ nothing tooo crazy in it! Thanks for commenting AND reading!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Bobbi, your posts always bring me joy. You remind me of myself here as pb and choc chips become the crutch. ;). This looks delightful to try. Thanks for sharing! Keep it up ;).

  3. Bobbi,
    Please keep up your blog cause you crack me up.
    I cannot wait to see what you come up with when them boys really start eating.
    You will then pitch all your 9×9 pans and goto something like a 18×26.
    I unfortunetely, fall into catogory 1, except, it may not be exceptional. But filling for sure.
    My family will eat the chicken & rice, I use thighs, they seem to stay moister.
    Thanks!!
    Keep ’em comin!!!!

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you, I have much fun with it, glad others enjoy as well!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I KNOW!! RIGHT?!?!? HOW will I ever keep them full?!?!?? HA!!!! Thankful they are pretty good eaters and not toooooo too picky, tho in the same breath they ARE picky. HA!! 18″ x 26″!! I told my husband that and we got a good laugh out of that. Thanks! Yes, good call on the thighs ~ I like to cook a bunch up too when they are cheaper and freeze…….cooked turkey (when real cheap) would work well too!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading AND commenting!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I wonder if I could just use regular brown rice with this. And I’m def the second type of cook/meal maker/planner. Although I’m not sure Steve would always describe my meals as fabulous! I’d love to be a planner…

    • HELLO Suz and welcome!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, you sure can!! Tho, be sure to add some seasonings! As the “uncle bens” pkg is well seasoned. Perhaps garlic, onion and random green seasonings ;). You will need to teach me how to cook brown rice, for some reason whenever I make it (and I try to make it more then the white stuff) it gets soggy and over done. I do better with the long grain white stuff with no good for you nutrients in there……THANKS for reading AND commenting!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Bobbi, I very much enjoy reading your blog. You are a good storyteller, and I find your recipes interesting to read. I like to cook but it’s always the time needed that becomes an issue for me. I’m always doing that too, looking in the fridge thinking of what to cook. If I get the frozen meat out on time, that works somedays! Ha ha! Could you do a basic one week planner for meals? Just a thought, my family likes a lot of meat and potatoes. I do love to bake, too! And those baked goods never stay in the house! Gone instantly, but I want to encourage you…..I enjoy reading your blog! Melanie

    • Thanks Melanie!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ That was kind of you to drop a note! I really like your idea of a “one week planner” ~ I think I might try doing a post like that sometime……might take me a little while to brainstorm and get it going! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did it once here ~ https://favoritefamilyfoods.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/meal-planning-a-one-week-menu-march-plus-a-few-new-recipes-scroll-down-to-find-them/ AND might do something like that again!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reminding me of it! Not sure if your family likes crock-pot stuff, but I also did something similar here (tho it was more of a “make ahead and freeze sorta thing”) ~ https://favoritefamilyfoods.wordpress.com/2012/12/13/crock-pot-cooking/
      THANKS again Mel, for getting my brain going!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Thanks for the link….I will check that out! Crock pot meals are great! And I love them too. Saturday we hosted a belated “Christmas” dinner and we made chuck & pork roast with yummy gravy, sweet and white mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, glazed carrots, broccoli/cauliflower with cheese, “fresh” frozen corn, and canned homemade applesauce. For dessert, apple dumplings with vanilla ice cream! Can’t go wrong with that meal, right?
        Maybe, with this cold night, tomorrow I’ll try loaded baked potato soup with bacon…..warms you right up! Looking forward to your next entry:-)

      • That meal sounds really REALLY good! I like the idea of a “belated” Christmas party!!! Apple dumplings! My mouth is watering! ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a good soup night tonight! Sweet and sour chicken over here tonight, soup tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the note!

  6. Enjoy reading too! This looks yummy to me but the wild rice may still be too wild for my finicky eaters ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I do LOVE your chix and wild rice soup! Served it at a school supper and had some requests for the recipe. Keep up the blog, I have used many of your recipes ๐Ÿ™‚

    • THANKS Melissa, and THANKS for reading and encouraging me! It means a lot! My kids have no trouble with the “wild rice” and they can be super duper picky!!! Maybe give it a try some time! ๐Ÿ˜‰ OR try it with regular rice, just add some extra seasonings to it (as wild rice packs come well seasoned). So glad you, and some others enjoyed that soup!! IT is FOR SURE a favorite here too!!! THANKS!!!!

  7. Please keep this blog going. I literally make your “Favorite Pancakes” recipe every Sunday night. It’s our favorite now too ๐Ÿ™‚ This looks like a great recipe! I fall into category 1 as well. Like tonight we had grilled cheese because I never planned supper due to having a sick kiddo taking much of my time today. I usually keep a couple of quick meals on hand for days where I run out of time and don’t know what to throw together for a meal. I love your recipes, so please keep posting!

    • THANKS Rachael! I really appreciate the feed-back, at times I get discouraged, wondering if anyone is reading ~ SO nice to know people are! ๐Ÿ™‚ YAH!!! Glad your family enjoys the pancakes! They are eaten here weekly as well, never thought to have them on Sunday night! I might snag that idea!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Grilled cheese is a GREAT stand-by, one of my “go to” meals as well!!! Thanks for taking the time to comment, hope your kiddo is feeling better…..AND that no one else gets it!!! :/

  8. Hi, Bobbi! Keep blogging! I am not much of a commenter but it is nice to know there is someone else out there who gets distracted around the pre-dinner and dinner hours. I plan out my meals 2-4 weeks in advance (started with two but am finding four isn’t that much more time). Our grocery bills are 15-20% less by doing this since I’m able to better plan out recipes to use up leftover ingredients. Even with planning, I still rely on the occasional quesadillas dinner when I can’t stand the thought of cooking.

    Incidentally, if you do plan out meals for longer than a week, I’ve found you only NEED to formally plan 4-5 dinners per week. The rest of the dinners are usually leftovers or quick go-to meals (like the quesadillas). I still jot down notes for 5-6 meals a week because I live in fear of the “what’s for dinner” question in my own mind, but I find myself just moving meals on my Google calendar because I never use them all.

    • HI! Thanks for commenting!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like you are very organized with your meal planning, seems you find it as helpful as I do!! ๐Ÿ™‚ YES, you are right, I too usually end up rolling over one or to or three meals to the next week! True about saving money on using leftover up with planned recipes!! Gotta love it!! QUESADILLAS! Another quick last minute meal AND a GREAT vehicle for leftover meat and veggies!! THANKS AGAIN!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

