“Fannie Mae” Fudge & some other Christmas Yummies

Standard

food 117

Fudge is a Christmas goodie must ~ at least over here. To be honest, fudge is another one of those recipes that I have messed up on a lot.(THO I have stuck with this recipe for years now because it has worked for me EVERY TIME! High fives!!)  One time I tackled fudge, (it was too late in the day to start something like that) and it was wasn’t  hardening up ~ so in the middle of the night, practically (9 pm), I called up my friend who said “anyone can make this fudge.” Ha. Not me. She couldn’t help me, it just wasn’t going to work. Another recipe I tried ended up to be fudgy looking sand. Not good.

This recipe comes from my Aunt Sheryl, which alone should tell you it is great.  Not sure of the original whereabouts (perhaps food.com?) It is  fun recipe to make with kids. Have them count out the marshmallows, dump in the chocolate and stir (my favorite part is to stir and stir and see the fudge just sorta form……). Don’t forget the licking the bowl clean part! (another favorite of fudge making!)

Some things about this fudge~
* First off, I have no clue what Fannie Mae fudge tastes like, so DOES this taste like it exactly? Not sure!  But I would enjoy hearing what you think of it!!
* Aunt Sher says to use 1 stick butter and 1 stick margarine ~ and well I usually do follow that, cause I like to listen, this year I did not have margarine on hand ~ so I used all butter. It was just as good!! Aunt Sheryl, why do you like to use 1 stick margarine and 1 stick butter?? Does it cut better? Taste better? Just curious, both ways taste GREAT!
* Cutting the fudge, can be tricky. Take your time, don’t rush and pull it cause it will not be pretty then. I use my Pampered Chef paring knife and wipe it off a lot, to keep it clean. I like to cut when right in between cold and room temp.
* You do not need to line your pan with foil, but I like do because then you can lift the fudge out of the pan and put on cutting board and cut. Cut away the slanty/rugged edges and make some nice little squares. (Edge scraps are great to eat by the way.) If you choose to put directly in the pan a with no foil, just be sure to grease the pan.

“Fannie Mae” Fudge 
4 c. sugar
1 stick butter
1 stick margarine
1 c. milk
1 tsp. vanilla
25 large marshmallows
2 oz. square of unsweetened chocolate
12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips
12 oz. milk chocolate chips
1 c. nuts, totally optional

In a large pan mix the sugar, butter, margarine and milk. Bring to a boil, be sure to stir it quite often. (Don’t forget about it or you will be in burned trouble.) Boil for 2 minutes. Take off heat and add vanilla. Next add the marshmallows and stir till melted. Then add the chocolates (1 kind at a time). Stirring till it is all melted, it will thicken up as you are stirring, this IS my *favorite part!!! (Add the nuts at this point if you so choose.) Pour into a foil lined (grease the foil) 9″ x 13″ pan. Chill to set. Lift fudge out of pan, cut and ENJOY!!!!

Here are a few more Christmas goodies!!

food 113

food 115

Oreo Balls! I am sure you have heard of these before and even made them. Funny thing, Aunt Sher also shared this recipe with me! Another fun one for the kids, have them roll the balls (you should perhaps dip, as the Oreo balls will melt if they linger to long in the melted chocolate!) and sprinkle with sprinkles. ((Aren’t sprinkles fun? One of my favorite things for sure!Three cheers for sprinkles!!))

Oreo Balls
14-15 oz. pkg. Oreos
6 oz. softened cream cheese
almond bark
sprinkles

Crush the Oreos finely and mix with the cream cheese. Chill. Roll into balls. Chill. Dip in melted almond bark, I melt in double boiler. Start with 6 cubes maybe, may need more or it may be too much. Never can tell with these things. When balls are still wet, not set, sprinkle with sprinkles!!!! Let set, either on counter or fridge.

Or you can dip in melted chocolate. You can also top with crushed candy canes, not sprinkles. Use your imagination and have fun!!

ENJOY!!!

Misc. 008

Peppermint Chex Mix you say? Yep! You should try it! Melt some almond bark add some crushed candy canes and pour over some Chex cereal (start with a little, you can always add more). Stir well, then pour onto a wax lined cookie sheet and let set till hardened, break up and eat!

Misc. 009

Did you melt too much almond bark?? Did you crush too many candy canes?? Have no fear!! Make Peppermint Bark!  My mom makes this most every year, so it has special memories for me. Melt your almond bark, stir in your crushed candy canes and pour out onto a waxed lined cookie sheet (as thick or thin as you like) and let set to harden and break up. Enjoy! Yum!

What is your favorite goodie to make during the Christmas season?? What is your favorite to EAT!!! :)(My answers ~ To make, Fudge. To eat,  Peanut Butter Balls.) I would enjoy hearing from you all!! 🙂

PLEASE CHECK OUT THE UPDATE ON THE OVERNIGHT PIZZA DOUGH / CHICAGO STYLE PIZZA POST! THANK YOU FOR READING!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. My favorites are peanut butter balls, oreo balls, almond patties. To make, they all involve dipping, so not sure there is a favorite to make 😉 Love them all, but I would say pb balls would be my most favorite to eat. My kids really love almond patties but will eat anything! A couple times I have made a mocha truffle that I just LOVE! Haven’t done in a few years. They are a bit tricky b/c has to be right coldness to roll into balls. But so, so yummy!!

    • OH FUN! Thanks for playing along!! 🙂 I have not heard of almond patties, I don’t think! ((A good recipe to share with me, hint hint!!! ;)) Isn’t it funny how un-picky kids can be about sweets, but how picky they can be with dinners?!?!? Silly kids. Mocha Truffle balls sound FABULOUS too! I know what you mean and the right coldness, I have a basic truffle I make that is the same way! Thanks for writing!! 🙂

  2. Here is the answer to the question about why use margarine and butter (rather than all butter)in this fudge .When I would use all butter , I would have like a butter slick start to form on top of the fudge as it cooled and then it would congeal . When I tried the margarine / butter mixture , it seems to not do this ; everything stays incorporated, so no more butter slick.

    • That makes sense! I did not have that when I used all butter ((I made it twice this year with all butter, years prior I followed the 1 marg 1 butter recipe)) ~ but could easy happen another time, good to know!! With butter being so cheap this time of year, that is all I have right now! Thanks for your answer and THANKS for sharing this recipe with me a while ago! Recipe sharing is fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

