Sausage, Kale and White Bean Soup

Standard

Brrrrr. When the weather is chilly, than soup is on the menu!!  This one was liked by everyone, which, to tell you the truth~ surprised me!!! I thought that there would be an issue with the “green stuff” BUT there wasn’t.  Enjoy!

food 078

Sausage, Kale and White Bean Soup 

12 oz. Italian Sausage links (I used the Aldi’s turkey sausage)
1/4 c. water
1 medium onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 TB. olive oil
2 (15 oz.) cans of Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained
2 (14 oz.) chicken broth (or about 4 c. water and 4 chicken bouillon cubes)
*14 1/2 oz. can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. basil
dash of garlic powder
4 c. chopped kale
black pepper to taste

Take the sausage out of the casings and roll into little balls, bite size ones. Place in a large soup pot, add the water, bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes (covered). Uncover and cook for 5 more minutes till meatballs are cooked through. Take out and set aside.

Heat the oil in the same pot, add the garlic and onion and cook till tender.  Add the beans, broth, undrained tomatoes, oregano, basil and garlic. Bring to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes. Add the cooked sausage and kale, simmer till kale is tender (this does not take very long, 5 -10 minutes).  Season with pepper, if needed.

* Can use a can of Italian Style diced tomatoes (14 1/2 oz.) in place of the regular diced tomatoes, basil, oregano and garlic.

ENJOY!!

Recipe from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor~ Vol. II.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Looks good Bobbi!!! I am making the overnite pizza dough pizza recipe for Friday night pizza tonite!!! I’ll let you know how it turns out!

    • THANKS!!!! I wonder how the pizza went??? You MUST let me know!!! 🙂 I am simply giddy knowing that you are trying it…….! And that Uncle Paul will be honest with whether or not he liked it!!! 🙂 :/

Leave a Reply

