Overnight Pizza Dough & Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza

Standard

* An Update! I have now made this pizza a load of times. I realize now the IMPORTANCE of STRETCHING the dough and not ROLLING it out!!! It is a nice sticky dough that stretches well!!! If you stretch and press and all that jazz, you will get bubbles. If you roll it out, it will be tough and chewy. Has anyone tried the dough and pizza? Just curious!!! Thanks!!! By  the way, it also makes a fabulous thin crust pizza! Stretch/press into a jelly roll pan (or a pizza pan or two) ~ top with sauce, topping, cheese, seasoning, Parmesan and bake!*

Thanks Aunt Sheryl for sending a picture of your pizza! Just LOOK at those bubbles!!YUM!!!! Is it Friday yet?!?!?  😉

Picture1121142047_1

I saw this post and this one and hid my yeast so that I would not start making it IMMEDIATELY.  Pizza is my weakness. Pizza night is Friday here, as waiting till Saturday is much to long. This was so so so so good and really no extra work at all, if anything, it was REALLY nice to have the dough ready and waiting for me!!!

I followed the directions found here @ Amy’s Aliments. The only thing I did different was take the dough out of fridge about an hour before I wanted to roll it out.  Oh, I also baked at 425º since my oven bakes hot and last time I put my oven to 500º it rebelled and broke.

We like to dip the crust in extra warmed pizza sauce. If you don’t like crust, pass it to me, I will eat it for you!

Here are some pictures of the process. Something about yeast proofing and dough rising …… one of my favorite food things for sure!!!

Nice and bubbly and ready to go after 12 hours. ↓

food 041

You know your yeast is active when you see bubbles after 5 minutes! 🙂 ↓

food 042

Dough really DOES rise in the fridge. High fives for coolness. ↓

food 044

Finished product! ↓ (I sorta folded the top dough over some of the filling as I rolled (See note above! DO NOT ROLL!) it out too big and had extra dough hanging over the sides…..mess ups are part of life. Amy’s picture will make your mouth water.)

food 046

Don’t forget to let your pizza sit for 10 minutes or it will ooze all over the place, enjoy!!!!!

THANKS Amy for our new favorite recipe(s)!!! Dough recipe here and pizza recipe found here!!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

8 responses »

    • Truth!!! I made 2 batches for my family…….so you will for sure need one more! 🙂 I have 2, well, I think 3, springform pans………glad to find another use for them OTHER then cheesecake! Tho I am wondering if this can also be made in a 9″ round cake pan, maybe one batch would make 2 smaller deep dish pizzas. I will try it sometime and update post as to whether it works or not!!! THANKS for commenting!!! 🙂

  1. You are amazing. I wouldn’t even try something like home made pizza dough when I
    was young and for sure not now… lol Grandma Witvoet

  2. I guess it’s time to make some more homemade pizza! This looks awesome! BOTH yours and Amy’s pictures make my mouth water 🙂

Leave a Reply

