Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Standard

food 039

Because it is fall, because it is chilly, because the boys need a snack for after school, because a friend is coming over, because I am hungry. Those are ALL good reasons to make muffins, right??? OK, good.  I am sure you too can find a reason to make muffins today!!

~ Recipe halves well or just freeze the leftover muffins for later snackin’.
~ I used half coconut oil and half applesauce, for the oil in the recipe. A hint about coconut oil ~ this time of year the stuff is hard and needs to be melted to add to recipes. BUT if you add melted coconut oil to cold milk/eggs/applesauce or whatever you are making, it  will just harden right back up and coat your bowl in coconut yumminess, that will defeat the purpose of oil in your baked goods as it just stays in your bowl…..SO a simple solution….dadadaaaa ~ MELT the coconut oil and the applesauce together, not to boiling or anything, just till coconut oil is melted (then let set a few minutes, so it is not too hot to add to recipe). Then slowly add to bowl, while mixing. That should help!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins (yield 24 muffins)

4 eggs
1 1/2 c. sugar
15 oz. can of pumpkin
1 1/2 c. oil (I used 3/4 c. applesauce + 3/4 c. coconut oil)
1 tsp. vanilla
3 c. flour
2 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
2 c. chocolate chips

Beat the eggs, sugar, pumpkin,  oil (or applesauce/ coconut oil mixture) and vanilla till smooth. Combine the dry ingredients and mix into the pumpkin mixture, till all combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips. Scoop into paper lined muffins tins (24). Bake @ 350º for 18-22 minutes till tests done with a toothpick.

Enjoy!!

Recipe adapted from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor, Vol. II.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

