Concord Grape Jelly

Standard

food 029

This recipe must be shared. It really must. It is really cool and really good. No pectin needed AND it uses equal parts of sugar to fruit juice. Which is still a lot of sugar, but many jams/jellies we make have MORE sugar then fruit.

Have you had concord grapes before? If not, let me tell you a bit about them. They are grapes. Tho not like the grapes we buy from the grocery store. They are purple, a deep purple. The skin is a bit thicker then regular grapes, the inside is like the inside of a regular grape, sorta. Tho these guys can be crazy tart, you might just make that pucker face. Apparently you can eat the seeds, tho my throat will not let me.  Well ~ that is my non-professional explanation of them. Oh yeah, you will most likely be able to find them at farm stands and farmers markets this time of year, perhaps into October yet.

Back to the jelly. It is like the stuff we buy from the store. But so much better. I do not buy grape jelly generally (unless those fabulous meatballs that call for it are on the menu!) ~ we just don’t really like it. But this ↓ stuff is sooooo good. IF you like pb&j (ugh…) you should try this, if you like toast you should try this, if you like to eat jelly by the spoonful you should try this…….maybe you should just try it!! 🙂

~Before beginning, take the grapes off the stem and wash them.
~ A FINE mesh strainer is very important for this recipe, regular noodle strainers will let too much grape skin or seeds pass through.
~ Do make your batch bigger then 4 c. juice and 4 c. sugar, if you have more than 4 c. juice ~ just make a whole separate batch.
~ The batch I made was 3 1/3 c. juice and 3 1/3 c. sugar and it yielded me about 5 1/2 pints of jelly.

Concord Grape Jelly 

8 c. concord grapes
3-4 c. sugar

Heat the grapes in a large saucepan, and bring to a boil. Simmer for 5 minutes, stirring often. When the 5 minutes is up, pour the grapes into a FINE mesh strainer, over a bowl! Press the juice out, leaving the skins and seeds behind in the strainer. Measure how much juice you have and add back to the sauce pan, then add an equal amount of sugar. (example ~ 3 1/3 c. juice and 3 1/3 c. sugar! easy peasy!)

Bring the juice/sugar mixture to a boil, a full boil, and boil again for a full 1 minute. Carefully pour into jelly jars, cover with top and ring. Then process for 10 minutes. Take out and let set (without moving) for 24 hours.

ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor Cookbook

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. yep this is really delicious jelly and amazing that it sets with out any kind of pectin and remember Bobbi we decided that you could definately cut back on the sugar which i think would make it even better….grapier 🙂

    • True, I think you could go for a bit less sugar ~ tho I sorta wanted to try that first, in case it doesn’t set due to the less sugar!!! The grape flavor it so so so good and it would be nice to taste it EVEN more!!! 🙂 THANKS!

Leave a Reply

