Chicken Tortilla Bake

Standard

Sometimes creativity at dinner can be hard, sometimes we run into a rut.

I have run into a dinner rut, perhaps because we are very near grilling season, burgers and shish-ka-bobs sound really good about now…….perhaps it is because I feel like I always make the same things or similar versions of the same things. Ever have dinner ruts?? What gets you out of them? Do you try new things or stick with the same ol’ favorites??

Chicken Tortilla Bake or Enchilada Casseroles, etc. ~ they are really nothing new…….not for us and probably not for you either BUT this one was a quick throw together and an easy bake AND  really good!!!

Sometimes we just need to have a few easy dinner meals that we can count out to come together quickly and to be enjoyed by the family! Dinners that require simple staples that most of us have in our house. This dinner helped me get out of a rut, perhaps it will help you someday if you are ever in a rut!!

Recipe Notes:
~ I used Homemade Cream “of” Soup. I added about 1/4 c. chopped onion to the butter melting part of the soup making. It gave nice flavor to the sauce.
~ You can make this Tortilla Bake earlier in the day, when things are perhaps a little quieter and you have more time. Just pop it in the fridge and take it out when you are ready to bake it. (May  need to add some time to the baking, if it is totally cold through.)
~ Last time I made this I used 1/2 can of leftover Rotel tomatoes and added enough salsa to make it equal 1 c.  I would do that again.
~ Rotel tomatoes give this dish a bit more of a kick then salsa, unless you use hot salsa ~ so choose your salsa spice depended on your families preference!

food 1127

Chicken Tortilla Bake

1 can cream of chicken soup (or 1 batch of this)
1 can Rotel tomatoes (drained) OR 1 c. salsa
(or a combo of both equalling 1 c.)
1/4 c. sour cream
1/4 c. milk
2 chicken breasts, cooked and cubed (equalling about 2-3 c.)
12 corn tortillas
1 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Mix together the soup, tomato product of choice, sour cream and milk.

Cut tortillas up, into strips. Layer 1/3 of the tortilla strips in a greased casserole dish (I use my oval Corelle casserole dish ~ it is a but smaller than a 9″x13″ pan, but deeper. So a 9″ x 13″ pan could work too, I would think. However it might bake quicker, so keep that in mind.) Then top with 1/2 of the cooked chicken and half of the sauce. Repeat (tortilla strips, chicken, sauce). End with the last layer of tortillas, then cheese.

Cover and bake @ 350° for 40 minutes. Uncover and bake 5 more minutes to brown the cheese just a bit.

Delicious topped with lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream, etc.

Serve with a chopped salad and ENJOY!!

Recipe adapted from thrityhandmadedays.com. (By the way, her pictures look MUCH more appealing than my “leftovers”! Sorry about that!) ((Pardon the green plate shadow in the corner, someone was being silly.))

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

