Glazed Donuts

Standard

food 1113

Donuts sounded really good the other day. The store is just barely around the corner, making a very quick trip to the store, BUT a candle was going, jammies were warm AND making a trip to the store for one thing is just not my favorite thing. I would much prefer planting wheat seeds, tending to them till they gave me some wheat, harvest and grind it and make flour……then run to the store. (Slightly being sarcastic here.)

These donuts were so very quick to throw together, really very easy. So very good too!! The recipe comes from allrecipes. My only change was I added a glaze and sprinkles….a must IF you ask me (and my kids!)

Glazed Donuts

Yields about 12 donuts + 12 donut holes.

2 TB. vinegar
6 TB. milk
2 TB. shortening
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
oil for frying (about 4 c.)
1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla
some tsp’s of milk, till a glaze like consistency

Combine the vinegar and milk, let set 5 minutes. Set aside. Mix the flour, baking soda and salt ~ set aside.

Cream sugar and shortening, till smooth (it will not be really smooth, more like well combined ~ it might look like well mixed wet sand). Add egg and vanilla. Add half the flour mixture, mix, add half the milk mixture, mix and repeat. Roll to about 1/2″ thick. Cut donuts with a donuts cutter. (IF you do not have a donut cutter, you may use a glass cup for donut and a shot glass for the donut hole.) Let donuts set for 10 minutes.

Heat oil in an electric skillet to 375°. (My tip, cook the donut holes 1st, as they make for good snacking while you make the other donuts….) Fry, a few at a time ~ turn when bottom becomes brown. Fry another minute or so till browned.  Cool just a bit, you do not want them burning hot, then drizzle with glaze and sprinkle with sprinkles.

To make glaze: Mix powdered sugar, vanilla and milk till a nice smooth glaze. (Not too thick, not toooo thin.)  Drizzle over the donuts and top with sprinkles. Serve AND enjoy!!

Recipe adapted from allrecipes.

Don’t forget these little guys…..yummy!!!

food 1116

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

