Applesauce from Freezer to Oven & Shortbread Brownie Bars

Standard

Fall is fun. (Perhaps I have said that before?) Smells of pumpkin, apple and fresh fallen leaves fill the air! NOW is the time to take advantage of the season, apple season that is!

I have enjoyed making this applesauce for years, one year I even dragged, tricked, begged my friend to help me……that was fun! It is nice to have a buddy when doing something like this.

  I use this for apple crisp AND apple pie filling, sometimes I add more sugar tho (add the sugar after it is thawed) ~ depending on how sweet or tart the apples are. You can also add some nutmeg, more cinnamon, or any other flavors you like in your pies/crisps. It can also be used to replace the pie filling you find in the cans, you know, for coffee cakes, bars or cooking with pork chops!!

~A 3/4 bushel of apples yielded me 10 gallon bags of applesauce. (Tho I realize I am a little behind in sharing this recipe……there may not be farmstands open or apple trees full of fruit yet, BUT the stores do have bags of apples on sale at times and a few of those will stock your freezer with a number of bags at least!)

First this…..

food 1106Then this….
food 1108THEN this!
food 1109

Applesauce from Freezer to Oven  

about 7 apples
1/3 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
3 TB. flour

Peel core and slice your apples. Fill a gallon freezer bag about 2/3 rds full. Top with sugar, cinnamon and flour. Shake around to mix, lay flat and freeze. When ready to cook ~ thaw, pour into a greased casserole dish and bake @ 350° for about 45 minutes till apples are tender, stir one time. OR pour into a greased crock pot and cook on low till apples are tender, maybe 4-5 hours. Serve. (SOME of my family members enjoy this applesauce over ice cream.)

ENJOY!

Time for a bar.  Take a bar and lock the rest away, as you will want more….and more……AND more. They are rich, so eating that many would be a mistake BUT you will want to….I want too.

food 1112

The best part of this bar ~ the melt in your mouth shortbread. Oh wait, the fudgy brownie layer. Kidding, the peanut butter frosting. Hold on, the chocolate topping.  I am sorry. I cannot decide. Really. You might just want to try it.

Buckeye Brownies, Fudge Brownies, Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars, this bar is a combo of all my favorites. An “all in one bar” you could say perhaps.

This recipe came from Jasey’s Crazy Daisy ~ tho I did make some changes to the Peanut Butter Frosting and the Chocolate Topping.

Shortbread Brownie Bars  

Shortbread Layer:
1 1/2 c. flour
2 sticks of butter, cold
1/2 c. powdered sugar

Mix, till fine crumbs, and press into a lightly greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Bake @ 350° for 25 minutes ~ till lightly browned around the edges.

Brownie Layer:
Prepare your favorite brownie mix, as directed on the box. Pour over crust and bake for about 24-26 minutes till brownies are cooked through. (Don’t over cook.)

Peanut Butter Layer:
1 stick soft butter
1/2 c. peanut butter
1 3/4 c. powdered sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. milk

Beat till smooth. Spread over COOLED brownie layer. Chill to set.

Chocolate Layer:
2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/4 c. peanut butter

Melt together and spread over peanut butter frosting. Chill to set. Cut. Eat. ENJOY!

Recipe adapted from Jasey’s Crazy Daisy.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

    • Yes, yes, YES!!! 🙂 I use this for apple crisp AND apple pie filling, sometimes I add more sugar tho (add the sugar after it is thawed) ~ depending on how sweet or tart the apples are. You can also add some nutmeg, more cinnamon, or any other flavors you like in your pies/crisps. It can also be used to replace the pie filling you find in the cans, you know, for coffee cakes, bars or cooking with porkchops!! THANKS for reminding me about all that!!! 🙂

  1. Yumm I feel spoiled we got to sample those bars before the rest of blogland could hear about them.
    Those were awesome, even the crumbs were worth saving 😉
    And I am relieved I don’t have to spend a whole day to get good applesauce..I will have to try that. As always thanks for the ideas!

Leave a Reply

