Baked Lasagna Toss

Standard

food 907

MMMmmmm……

This was liked by everyone. Those dinners are. the. bestest.

I used these really cute noodles that looked like mini lasagna noodles,  of course I cannot remember the “official” name of them, but noodle boxes have a lovely window so you CAN see the shape of your noodle. 🙂  IF you do not have the mini lasagna noodles ~ no problem, just break up some regular lasagna noodles and continue on with the recipe!

* I do not always have garlic cloves on hand, so in that case I just use a good dash of garlic powder. Works fine.

* I never really measure the seasonings that I add to a jar of spaghetti sauce, these measurements are just guesstimates. It depends on the flavor of the sauce already, you know how sweet or spicy or seasoned it may already be. I probably use more sugar, oregano, etc….but this is a good place to start and change it up according to your families  likes/dislikes.

Baked Lasagna Toss  

1 lb. ground beef
1/2 of an onion, chopped
1/2 of a green pepper, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 c. of uncooked mini lasagna looking noodles (oh…so technical…)
28 oz. jar of spaghetti sauce
1/4 c. – 1/2 c. water
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp. oregano
good pinch of red pepper flakes (opt.)
salt & pepper to taste
12 oz. container of cottage cheese
8 oz. package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese, softened
1/3 c. grated parmesan cheese
1/4 c. sliced green onions
1 TB. dried parsley flakes
1 c. shredded Italian cheese blend

Brown the ground beef with the veggies and garlic cloves. Till meat is thoroughly cooked and veggies are tender. Drain well.  Add the spaghetti sauce,water, (I swoosh it in the jar to get out any extra sauce, then pour into pan) sugar, Italian seasoning, oregano, red pepper flakes and salt & pepper. Let simmer about 10 minutes to thicken up and  meld flavors.

Meanwhile. Cook the noodles till about 1 minute UNDER al dente ~ they will continue to cook as it bakes. Drain.

Take sauce off heat and add noodles. Pour into greased pan. (I use an oval Correll dish, it does not tell me the size on the bottom…..sorry. It seems that is comparable to a 9″ x 13″ pan, just deeper and not as long.)

Mix the cottage cheese and cream cheese well. Add the parmesan cheese, green onion and parsley. Stir well.  Spread this carefully over the noodle layer. Top with the Italian cheese.

(I usually have this ready in the fridge so it is cold, thus my baking times will be longer IF you throw this together and bake right away, your baking time will be shorter.) Bake, covered, at 350° for 40 minutes. Uncover and bake another 20 minutes or so, till heated through and cheese is browned a bit. (I broiled mine a bit at the end to give the top a nice crunchy crust.)

SERVES ~ about 6, big helpings (1 1/2 c. servings)

Serve and Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from “Pillsbury Family Pleasing Recipes”.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

    • Sure :/. Perhaps. I will look next time I am at the store, I really did enjoy them so it will be nice to know…… Thanks for helping me try to figure it out!

    • I know….I felt the same way. BUT when you mix it well with the cream cheese you can mix out as many lumps as you want/can…..THEN there is nothing (mostly nothing) to be afraid of…… :/ Really it is just a good layer or cheesy yumminess……nothing to be nervous about :).

  1. I was excited to try this lasagna without the tedious assembly of layers. I thought it was delicious! Everyone else liked ok, too, but I think the kids think “regular” lasagna is better b/c no one took 2nd helpings and that is unusual when I make lasagna. I REALLY liked the cream cheese layer-oh yum-a little different. I actually used bow tie pasta 🙂 I have those on hand usually for your crock pot recipe and didn’t want to mess with breaking up noodles. Seemed to work great, almost looks like a mini noodle???? Thanks again for this recipe, always looking for good beef casseroles so if you have any more to share… 🙂

    • Bowtie pasta was a GREAT idea! Yes, this is a “different” sort of dish, thanks to the cream cheese layer. Glad you really enjoyed! Now that it IS casserole weather I do hope to have more to share! 🙂

Leave a Reply

