Chocolate Chip Shortbread

Standard

So, the other day I really didn’t feel like cleaning up the dinner dishes….. instead I made shortbread.  Shortbread is buttery crumbly easy delicious. A good baking distraction, when you really should be doing something else :/. (THEN of course I had baking dishes to clean up too……but that was fine, just fine.)

I know  a few of my loved ones who enjoy their shortbread on the shy side of charred (pretty sure you know who you are!), I however enjoy mine just barely browned. Barely. THAT is why the baking time ranges so much. I think about 30 minutes is just right, for me. Check it at 20 minutes, again at 25 minutes, etc. till YOUR desired brownedness.

food 865

* I have made and enjoyed these little shortbread bars 2 ways, well, 3 ~ oh, I mean 4 different ways. Pick the way that sounds bestest to you!!  #1. Bake with NO chocolate chips in the dough and simply top the bars (right out of the oven) with the 1 c. chocolate chips. When melted, spread. Cool. Cut. #2. Add 1/2 c. mini chocolate chips TO the dough ~ then bake and top with 1/2 c. chocolate chips, let melt and spread. #3. Bake without the chocolate chips. Cool. Cut into rectangles. Dip 1/2 of the shortbread bar INTO melted chocolate. Set on wax paper, let set, cool. #4. Bake with 1 c. mini chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Shortbread 

1 1/4 c. flour
1/2 c. powdered sugar
2/3 c. soft butter
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 c. chocolate chips (I like to use “mini” for these)

Mix the flour, powdered sugar, butter and vanilla till well blended. Pat into a greased 9″ baking pan (I believe I use an 8″). Bake @ 325° for 20-40 minutes. (Depending your oven and how dark you want your shortbread.) Take out of oven and top with the chocolate chips. Let set till melted. Spread. Cool. Cut.

Enjoy!!!

Recipe from Stacie.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

    • Well, THAT is hard to answer ;), but if I must I will say ~ #3 Bake without the chocolate chips. Cool. Cut into rectangles. Dip 1/2 of the shortbread bar INTO melted chocolate. 🙂

      • ooh, ok! Perhaps a little more effort is worth it in this case..and option number 5 would be to have you or your mom do the dipping for me since you’re both experts now, right?!?

Leave a Reply

