Herbed Stuffed Zucchini

Standard

food 1071

I got this recipe from my friend from Kats’ Kitchen.  It was so good. My kids didn’t eat it, but then again I  didn’t offer it to them, I ate it all……….. for lunch. It was quick to throw together and easy to make.

Herb-Stuffed Zucchini

2 medium zucchini (split in half lengthwise and scoop out seeds)
1/3 c. Panko breadcrumbs
1 tomato, chopped
1/2 tsp. dried parsley
1/4 tsp. dried dill
dash of garlic powder
2 T. olive oil
salt & pepper to taste
1/4 c. fresh grated Parmesan Cheese

Combine all ingredients together except the zucchini, olive oil and Parmesan cheese.  Lay  zucchini on a  greased baking sheet, with sides.  Spoon the tomato mixture into the zucchini, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.   Bake at 425º for 25 – 30 minutes.

Recipe adapted from Kats’ Kitchen.

What is your favorite way to use zucchini?  DO you have any zucchini recipes you can share with us?? It IS that time of year where we are swimming in zucchini! 🙂

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. Oh how timely-I had a very large zucchini sitting on my counter just waiting to be used. So whipped together last night, and yes, I too, ate myself. And now enjoying for lunch!! 🙂 I do think I will use med sized nxt time-the large one worked but just a bit too much zucchini in each bite! The only recipes I really use are from you 🙂 Although I have made a choco cake b/f with zucchini in it. My son likes it fried on stove-so I just fry in a pan with some olive oil til tender, sprinkle with some seasonings and parm cheese. I’m glad he will do veggies, but he’s pretty boring-any time I doctor them up he passes.

    • I am glad you tried it AND enjoyed it!! Sounds like your son needs to talk to my sons about eating veggies!! I have HARD time getting them to eat their veggies EVEN after doctoring them up!! I just keep on trying and perhaps somedaythey will grow to enjoy their veggies!!! Chocolate cake with zucchini sounds yummy!! (That is one of those things I have to make on the sly, EVEN though you cannot taste the zucchini, if my kids see me put it IN the cake, they think they can taste it! 😉 Kids! thanks for your comment!!! 🙂

      • I’ll comment here a/b another zucchini recipe of yours-just b/c your comment a/b putting things in on the sly made me smile! 🙂 I made your pumpkin zucchini bread and my kids LOVED!! And they knew I put the “green stuff” in. And it was one of the best bread results I have ever had! I have problems with not done in middle, too brown edges, and sometimes too dry. It wasn’t perfect, but close to it!

      • Glad you enjoy the bread!!! THANKS for reminding me of it!!! I sometimes bake “quick” breads like this at 325 degrees, the slower temp seems to help me (sometimes….) with the uneven baking, bake for an hour, check, bake 10 more min or so ~ till cooked through in middle!

  2. Hi Bobbi,
    Looks good. Sorry your kids don’t like it, but it didn’t end up in the garbage, right. I usually put zuchinni in the grater of my food processor and freeze it in bags with portions on it labeled for a recipe(ie:2cups). Then I can thaw and use whenever…really good for zuchinni bread with chocolate chips! That one is kid friendly too!
    Hope to see you soon.
    Sue K.

    • Freezing zucchini IS the best!!!! Enjoying zucchini allll winter long!! I will throw some chocolate chips in my zucchini bread next time, my kids thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

