Candied Jalapenos

Standard

food 1070

My family really REALLY enjoys these jalapeno peppers on nachos, tacos, sandwiches, salads, etc. They are sweet and very spicy. IF the sweetness is too much, just pat them off a bit.

Now, I do have some tips. Really just “don’t do what I have done” tips.

*First off, be sure to put your patient pants on for these. Lots of slicing, lots of seeds flying, lots of canning jar wiping, lots of finger burning…..which leads me to the next tip.

* PLEASE wear gloves. I know I know. I am telling you to do something I never do. I reek. I paid. My. hands. burned. (literally) for about 10 hours yesterday. From holding all those peppers, my left hand was ON fire for a long time. PLEASE wear gloves. THEN my lip began to burn………

* PLEASE do not remove contacts anytime around the time you have cut jalapenos. I removed mine at LEAST 10 hours later and this morning, when I put them BACK in. OUCH.

Just a few more tips….

* Take out as many or as little seeds as you want, you can remove them all if you wish, I leave about half in. See picture ↓ below. I take a paring knife and cut out about half of the white middle and whatever seeds come out with that chunk. It still leaves plenty o’ heat, but it can be tolerated.

food 1069

* There will be extra juice, I do not save it, but if you want to then click on the link below ~ she saves hers and has some other uses for it.

Candied Jalapenos

Yield 9 ~ 1/2 pints. 

5 lb jalapenos
2 c. cider vinegar
6 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. tumeric
1/2 tsp. celery seed
3 tsp. garlic powder
3/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

Trim off the stems of the jalapenos. Remove as much or as little of the seeds, I like to remove about half of the seeds. Slice into 1/4″ rounds.

Mix together the cider vinegar, sugar, tumeric, celery seed, garlic powder and cayenne. Bring to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes. Add the pepper slices and bring back to a boil, simmer for 4 minutes.

Pour peppers into a strainer SAVING the juice!!!! Bring the juice BACK to a boil, boil for 6 minutes. Pack the peppers into canning jars (I like to have the jars soaking in hot water for a little while, then dry off). When the juice has boiled, pour CAREFULLY over the peppers (I like to use an 8-cup measuring cup with a spout) .

Wipe the rims and sides of the jars. Top with lids and rings on top, screw on. Process for 10  minutes.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Beth’s Favorite Recipes.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Nothing is prettier than freshly canned anything on the counter and this looks beautiful and tastes yummy,I will make some as soon as our jalapeno plants start producing,,,,thanks Bobbi. 🙂

Leave a Reply

