Frosty Strawberry Squares

Standard

food 373

This refreshing dessert is just that, refreshing. Great SUMMER dessert for sure! It has a lovely tang from the lemon juice and a sweetness from the strawberries, and the cream cheese/whipped cream layer holds it all together. Let’s not forget about the crust….personally THAT is my favorite part. I like to drizzle mine with warmed hot fudge sauce, reminds me of a chocolate dipped strawberry or sometimes I sprinkle each serving with mini chocolate chips, cause chocolate is good. I hope our family enjoys this frozen treat!

* Do NOT use my chopped strawberries as an example, chop yours SMALLER!! Else you will be biting into HARD chunks of strawberries…..each time I make this I forget that, but won’t anymore now that I have a picture to remind myself!

Frosty Strawberry Squares 
1 c. flour
1/3 c. brown sugar
4 whole graham crackers, crushed
1/2 c. margarine, softened
2 egg whites
3/4 c. sugar
1 c. heavy whipping cream
4 oz. softened cream cheese
2-3 TB. lemon juice
10 oz. fresh strawberries, chopped SMALL

Mix together the flour, brown sugar, crushed crackers and margarine. Spread mixture in an even layer in a 9″ x 13″ pan. DON’T press down. Bake @ 350* 20 minutes. Stir occasionally. Remove from oven and cool. Take out 1/3 of the mixture, set aside, and spread the rest out a bit in the 9″ x 13″ pan.

Beat the egg whites and sugar for 3 minutes. Add the heavy whipping cream and beat another 6 minutes. Add the softened cream cheese and lemon juice. Beat till mixed well. Add strawberries and mix 1-2 minutes, till all combined. Spread this over the bottom crust, spread and top with the remaining crumbs. Freeze till firm, at least 6 hours. If frozen overnight, take out about 10 minutes before slicing. Enjoy.

Recipe adapted from PRC’s Prized Recipes to Cook and Savor, some ingredients and directions are changed.

Are you in a summer dinner rut?? I am. Here are just a few ideas from Favorite Family Foods….

Jalapeno Popper Dip

Pico de Gallo

Frozen “Hot” Chocolate Slush

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Yellow Zucchini Relish 

Pepper Jelly 

Junk Bars

Zucchini Crisp

Homemade Ice Cream

BBQ Chicken Kabobs

Sausage Stuffed Peppers

Fresh Tomato Basil Tart

Pizza Dough for the Grill 

Strawberry Pretzel Fluff

Beer Brats

Zucchini “Fries”

NOW……ANY fun recipes/foods you have enjoyed this summer that YOU can tell us about??

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Nice post Bobbi!! Love looking at all the delicious pictures…..I do so wish you had a real cookbook I could sit and look at! And WHY have i never had one of those delicious looking strawberry bars?!

Leave a Reply

