Blueberry Sauce

Standard

Blueberry Season is here* High Fives!!!*……blink and it will be gone.   Especially since it is might  closer to being done the starting!!!

We picked blueberries at Eeingenburg’s Blueberries. It was nice and we had a wonderful time!!!

Last year I shared a blueberry pie ~ a fabulous way to eat those fresh picked or bought blueberries!!! Oh, there is also the blueberry coffee cake to make, as well as jams to prepare and countless handfuls to snack on!

At checkout at Aldi the other day I spied a container I liked. Inside that said container was Raspberry Sauce (you know, for pancakes, ice cream, waffles, etc.) and well, the seeds floating on top gave me 2nd thoughts (crunching those are not my favorite thing….) My 1st thought was to buy it for the container, for homemade syrup and such, BUT (Can we buy something just  for its container?!?) THEN I remembered the blueberries that we had just picked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Blueberry Syrup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   There was a blueberry sauce recipe in the  handy-dandy blueberry book I got from Eenigenburg’s, I would try THAT one!!! Fun Stuff.

food 1071

I tripled the first batch and canned it. Needless to say, after eating it for breakfast and nearly polishing off 1 jar ↓, we then made a quadruple batch.   Perhaps your family will enjoy it as well!!!

food 1072

Blueberry Sauce
yields about 2 c. sauce.

1/2 c. sugar
2 tsp. cornstarch
dash of salt
1/2 c. water
2 c. blueberries
1 TB. lemon juice (opt.) (I used 1/2 TB. per batch)

Combine the sugar, cornstarch and salt. Stir in the water. Add the blueberries and bring to a boil. Simmer till thickened, this takes about 4 minutes.

Take off heat and add the lemon juice, if your blueberries are more sweet than tart. (At this point I like to puree with my immersion blender to make a smooth sauce.)

You can pour the hot sauce into jars and process for 10 minutes to enjoy fresh blueberry sauce all winter!! Or use right away and chill leftovers. IF you want a thicker sauce, add more cornstarch ~ the amount above makes the sauce nice for pancakes…..not too thick not too thin.

Serve over pancakes, waffles, ice cream, angel food cake, etc.

ENJOY!!!!

Recipe and blueberries from Eenigenburg’s Blueberries.

 

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

    • SO glad you guys enjoyed it!!! Cannot wait to hear about that dessert….some time ;)! I like that the sauce has less sugar than jam, but tastes so so good ~ practically drinkable!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

