Baked Cinnamon Roll Pancakes & Pancake Squares

Standard

food 1053

A while ago I shared this recipe for Cinnamon Swirl Pancakes. It is very delicious. but it IS a handful to make sometimes……  This recipe looked similar BUT easier.

It is quick to throw together and quick to bake. Which makes it a nice breakfast. Oh…..it was YUMMY too!

I did change a few things from the original recipe, but can take NO credit for creating it!! So check  it out at Big Red Kitchen!

food 1052

Baked Cinnamon Roll Pancakes   

1 1/2 c. milk
4 TB. melted butter
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 TB. sugar
2 c. flour
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Cinnamon Swirl Filling ~
3 TB. melted butter
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 TB. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. vanilla

Frosting ~
4 TB. butter, softened
2 oz. cream cheese, softened
3/4 c. powdered sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla
splash of milk, if needed to thin

For the Pancakes ~ Combine the flour, baking powder and salt ~ set aside. Beat the milk, melted butter, eggs and vanilla. Add the sugar, mix.  Add the flour mixture to the milk mixture and mix just till combined. Don’t over mix.  Pour into a greased jelly roll pan. (About a 10″ x 13″ pan.)

For the Swirl ~ combine the melted butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. You want it to be thick but not to thick and thin but not tooo thin…..humm…..like the consistency of toothpaste. Put the filling in a Ziplock bag and snip the edge JUST a tiny bit. Squeeze into lovely swirls onto batter.

Bake @ 350° for 8-9 minutes.

Prepare glaze ~ beat the softened butter and cream cheese till smooth. Add the powdered sugar and vanilla (add some milk to thin if necessary). Drizzle over warm pancake squares and serve.  Yield 12 Pancake Squares.

Recipe adapted from Big Red Kitchen.

While we are on the topic of pancakes……. these ones are REALLY good as well. Good and easy.  Fun and fabulous.  Just a few changes from the  original recipe from Big Red Kitchen.

food 1059

Baked Pancakes 

1 1/2 c. milk
4 TB. melted butter
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
2 TB. sugar
2 c. flour
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 c. (or so) mini chocolate chips (opt.)
syrup

Mix together the flour, baking powder and salt ~ mix and set aside.

Whisk together the milk, butter, eggs, vanilla and sugar till smooth. Add the flour mixture and whisk till all combined.

Pour into a greased jelly roll pan (about 10″ x 13″ size) and sprinkle mini chocolate chips over top (totally optional). Bake @ 350° for 8-9 minutes.

Serve with syrup or butter or sugar or fruit or whatever you like on your pancakes. Enjoy!!!

Recipe adapted  from Big Red Kitchen.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

16 responses »

  1. Boy Bobbi , those look much easier than the other cinnamon roll pancakes that I failed at….I will give these a try! I love the picture of them before they are baked….very pretty:)

  2. Ok, LOVE the cinnamon swirl pancakes! Having made these and the original ones, I’d definitely say these are easier. Though it’s been awhile, this was less fussy but so tasty! Thanks for a new favorite! Oh I almost forgot to mention that I did end up baking them closer to 15 minutes..not sure what I did, but 8-9 minutes left me with still gooey pancakes. Just some feedback in case it’s helpful 🙂

    • YAY!!! So glad you enjoyed! Yes, so very much easier!!! Thanks for the tip about having to cook yours a bit longer, ALL ovens cook differently, good for all of us to note that!! 🙂 (Feedback IS ALWAYS helpful, thank YOU!!!)

  3. My kids thought the cinnamon roll pancakes were fabulous! Although it was almost a flop. I, too, did not bake long enough. My middle was worse than gooey-basically ate batter! Also my cinnamon swirl must have been too thick, did not look like pretty swirls. Going to try them again tomorrow. I just love bfast recipes!!

    • Someone else had trouble with a raw-middle as well!! Bummer!! Did you bake in a 10″ x 15″ pan??? Wonder how it went the second time?!?!?! GLAD to hear the kids enjoyed it still though!! 🙂

      • The 2nd attempt was a success! The cinnamon swirls were actually swirls this time, too!! :). 14 minutes bake time & perfecto! Yes, I did use jelly roll and have also learned through many flops & failures that all ovens bake differently ;)!!

      • YAY!!!!! So glad it turned out! 🙂 Great job with the swirls!! Yep, ovens DO back differently ~ good lesson for us all! (Looks like mine must bake hot!)

Leave a Reply

