Pasta Primavera

Standard

Summer is here. Days get busy, time flies. Suddenly it is dinner time. It will creep up on you REAL fast IF you are not ready for it. Meals that you can make ahead, or prep ahead OR that come together quickly are most ideal.

Do you have any go-to summer meals?? This one is one of mine.

This recipe was one of my first ones I ever made after being married, we liked it then, we still like it now! Even the kids enjoy it, though usually some of their “green” veggies somehow end up on dad or mom’s plate. Oh, well, I will keep trying to get them to embrace those “good for you green” veggies!

As a new wife, still learning the ropes of cooking/baking/housekeeping, I was really happy to find this easy quick recipe. Before I was married, my hobby of recipe collecting began. On paper it looked like I new what I was doing, my homemade cookbook looked nearly pro-ish….ha…..tho the truth was that I was real good at making dough  cookies, but somehow most of the baking (you know, after the first pan, of course ~ gotta eat a warm from the oven cookie) and mess was left for my mom. Sorry mom. Stirring and tasting the BBQ and spaghetti was my job, again, really quite easy.  The licking of the beaters mashing of the potatoes was also a favorite. Reality REALLY hits when you alone are responsible for all the planning, prepping, making and cleaning up of meals.

food 1047

* Use any veggie you like in place of the asparagus, if it is not in season. Sugar snap peas or broccoli both are delicious. Green pepper can replace the red pepper if you don’t have that.

* You can use 1 c. chicken broth in place of the water/bouillion combo.

* Yummy served with a salad and bread.

Pasta Primavera 

3 c. penne pasta, uncooked
2 TB. Italian Dressing
1 1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1″ chunks
2 zucchini, cut into chunks
1 1/2 c. cut up asparagus
1 red pepper, chopped
1 c. hot water
1 tsp. chicken granules
4 oz. cream cheese (low-fat works)
1/4 c. fresh grated parmesan cheese

Well preparing the rest of the meal, begin to cook the pasta.

Heat dressing in a large skillet (I use my electic skillet sometimes). Add the chicken and vegetables, cook 10-12 minutes till chicken is cooked through and veggies are tender.  Add water and chicken bouillon granules and cream cheese. Cook one minute, stirring, till cream cheese is melted. Add Parmesan cheese, mix well.

Drain pasta and add to skillet, toss gently to coat.  Sauce will thicken a bit upon standing.  Serve with bread and a salad and enjoy!!

Recipe from Kraft.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. Love it Bob!!!!!I didn’t really know that you were a recipe collector before you were married!!!!!!That was fun to learn…..

  2. Yeah Bobbi , dad still talks about how he doesn’t get near as many baked goods as he did before you were married, he says the guys he worked with noticed too. You sure did inherit your Great Grampa Hofstra and Great Grama Clausing’s genes.

Leave a Reply

