Deep Dish Cookie Pie & Coconut Oil

Standard

food 1048

We are not a gluten-free family, but I do enjoy having a few really good gluten-free recipes on hand.  It is nice to be able to serve someone who is gluten-free something that is really really good.

food 1046

(Just another one of my quirks/flaws/troublesome points….I am a “before dinner snacker”….. ↑ Making sure it passes a “taste inspection” is a part of baking/cooking I take very seriously. Very. 😉 )

Now, I make sure my children are no where NEAR me when I dump the chickpeas in the food processor and whir it all up. (An outlet in the pantry would be nice for this….humm…..) If they SAW WHAT was going in, I, 112% guarantee they would. not. eat. it. Promise.  My kids are like that, maybe yours are not.

Anywho. We all ate it and really enjoyed it. It is really so very good warm, though chilled in the fridge is good too. We warmed the leftovers a bit, to give it that “warm from the oven meltiness”.  Added a scoop of ice cream and chocolate sauce (and…..caramel sauce……just a touch……) Yummmmy.

No one asked, “what is in this”. They just ate it AND enjoyed. IF they tasted that something was not quite normal. They WOULD NOT BE EATING IT. I promise. So, they are great picky-taste-testers.  I will be making this again and again……and probably again and again.

You can get the recipe here from Chocolate Covered Katie.  I DID make one change. I have been using Coconut Oil a bit. So I used coconut oil, instead of regular oil. Oh, one more change, I baked in a 9″ spring-form pan for about 36 minutes.

Some things about coconut oil.

* It is a bit pricey so it is not something I have or use ALL the time. But I do really really REALLY enjoy it.

* It DOES taste like coconut. If you don’t like coconut, you might not like it.

*No one in family has said “Do I detect coconut in my brownie??” Nor does anyone in my family talk like that…..BUT you get the drift. No one seems to be noticing that I am healthifying them with this little change.

* Use coconut oil in place of canola, vegetable or corn oil (I am sure there are other oils out there too you can use it in place of…..).

* It is solid when cold, liquid when warm.

* I have used coconut oil in these types of things with great results ~ granola, Crunchy Granola Bars, cookies, breads, cinnamon rolls…….even in a white bread……. probably forgetting something. Oh yeah, waffles…… other things as well,  I am just not remembering……

* If you or your child has eczema or very dry skin, you can use some coconut oil on the dry spot~ though don’t go too heavy as you will become an oil slick AND it will leave an oil spot on clothes. I have not noticed any stains on clothes with just rubbing in on skin. But, I like to test things out SO I put a small glob on a rag, let it set, washed it normal and wala.  A spot was left. SO do be cautious.

* A while back I was looking for something to help my sons skin ↑. I went to a health food store and the lady pointed me towards Coconut Oil. It was so very pricey. I said “thanks” and walked around with it and debated and went home to think about it. Some time later I read the article below ↓ opted instead to some day go to Costco and try it out from there. Happy I waited, quite a price savings. SO you can get coconut oil from a health store or Costco. Costco is about $15.99 for 54 oz. ~ the health store was about 16 oz. for $12 ish. Maybe you can get it somewhere else as well?? Anyone? Not 100% sure.

* DO NOT FALL PREY TO A CHEAPER VERSION. AKA ~ 76% coconut oil. The other 24%  is…??? Not sure what the rest of the container is filled with. I learned the hard way. Learn from me….again.   Go for the full 100% coconut oil.

* I was introduced to coconut oil here. If you want to learn more, read up at Cooking Up a Sale.

I would enjoy hearing any thoughts or questions  you have!!! I am sure there are so very many people smarter than me about health and coconut oil, please share with us anything you may know! 🙂  Let us knowIF you try the dessert or coconut oil and what you used it in!!!!

I hope everyone’s summer is enjoyable!!! :)]

food 1044

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. Well Bobbi, I LOVE coconut so I would not mind the taste of coconut in things but I have tasted several things that you have made with coconut oil and I have not really detected the coconut taste….it is not strong anyway so people who don’t really care for coconut should not be too scared to try it

Leave a Reply

