“Buttermilk” Wheat Pancakes

Standard

Not to long ago I shared “Our Favorite Pancakes” ~ and now here is a version of that recipe that we enjoy.   It gets just a bit of health into my family, with the wheat flour. Brown sugar is  really nice in pancakes in place of the white sugar, try it with YOUR favorite pancake recipe!

* Wheat flour does make these pancakes just a bit denser, heavier, filling-inger then the original recipe ~ they do not fluff quite as high but they STILL have that melt in your mouth yumminess that is fabulous in pancakes.

* Go the extra mile and add some ground flax-seed or wheat germ……. or chocolate chips AND sprinkles. Strawberries  and blueberries are also nice additions to pancakes. (We prefer then sprinkled on top as opposed to added TO the batter.)

food 1009

“Buttermilk” Pancakes
1 1/2 c. milk
3 TB. vinegar
1 1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. wheat flour
1/4 c. brown sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp.  baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1/4 c. butter, melted
cooking spray

Combine the milk with the vinegar in a small bowl and set aside for 5 minutes to “sour”.

Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Set aside.

Whisk the egg and butter into the “soured” milk.  Pour this over the flour mixture and mix just till lumps are gone.

Heat your griddle to about 350*, spray with cooking spray. Pour 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto griddle, cook till bubbles appear on surface. Flip with spatula and cook till light brown on the other side.  Serve warm with butter or syrup OR whatever you like! Serves 4-6.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from this pancake recipe.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

