It’s a “small town” kinda thing….. and Basic Burgers & How to Clean Smelly Dish Cloths.

Standard

So I was just thinking. Some blogs are more of “Big City” Blogs ~ you know, everyone knows about them, everyone likes them, everyone wants to go there. Other blogs are more like “Small Town” Blogs ~ not everyone knows about them, or ever visits them. Suiting to my blog and myself. A bit more “Small Town” are we.  In a small town you basically know everyone. Well…..(you KNOW what is coming!!!) …… YOU know me, now I am interested it knowing you!!!!

Give a shout out, say “Hi!”, tell me your favorite color or number. Are you ready for summer??? What is your favorite thing to make/do?? Least favorite thing to make/do? ANYTHING!!!! Made anything REALLY good lately??? I just wonder if this small town has a population more than 5 others, myself and, well, me…..

I will tell you 1 thing. I am DONE (d.o.n.e.) with minute rice, brown and white. It turns out mushy and soggy ~ or maybe it is just me. I have quit them and moved on to long grain longer cooking rice. (UNLESS you have tips, tricks or recipes for me to try involving minutes rice……..) I am fine with the long grain rice. It is basic and I wonder if Ma from the “Little House” Books cooked it? She probably didn’t have minute rice and she was fine. (Though she didn’t have M&M’s,  Sugar Smacks, frozen pizza or many of the store-bought fancies that we have….so I am quite content to be where I am. Though I do enjoy watching a girl in a dress tromp through long grass  with the  wind blowing…. or a nice shady spot under a tree near the creek…….or thinking about wearing long fun dresses.) Anyway. Back to you. “HI!! Nice to meet you!!!

This spring  day is beautifully blustery rainy and chilly. Though, with Memorial weekend coming right up, grilling will be on our minds!! So a burger recipe coming up!!!!

* Usually 1 lb. of ground meat yields about 4 burgers. Though, gauge the size of your buns and/or the people eating the burgers and shape your patties according to that! For my kids I like to make some smaller ones………

food 988

Basic Burgers 

1 tsp. dried onion flakes
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1/2 tsp. brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1/4 tsp. cumin
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
2 lb. ground beef
8 buns

Mix together the spices and seasonings. Mix well, add the ground beef and mix well. Shape into the size patties you want. Grill, how long?? Well, till your husband brings them in cooked…..oh. Just kidding. Cook over medium heat for about 5-6 minutes, (OF course you may cook your differently!!! Over lower or higher heat for longer OR for shorter…….grills cook differently, so watch carefully and cook till your desired doneness.) flip, cook 3-4 minutes(ish). Till done to your liking.

Take the time to toast your buns if you want to……just 1-2 minutes, cut side down, directly on the grill will give you nice buns. (FOR  your burger……)

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from “Everything Freezes” Cookbook.

food 1007

Ever have yucky smelling dish cloth??? Boil them for 7-8 minutes. Takes that smell right out!! Thanks, Kathy, for that very helpful tip!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

24 responses »

  1. Hi Bobbi!
    I have never really done minute rice because it wasn’t available in Africa! I have made both white and brown rice in the microwave recently and wow is it so much easier than the stove top! We have an electric stove and it takes so long to heat up and it is very difficult to regulate. A friend of mine mentioned that cooking in the microwave zaps nutrients though…I haven’t researched that yet. And I made coconut oil chocolate chip cookies today…very good! Just thought I’d say hi and that I read your blog regularly:)
    Stephanie

    • Thanks for the “hi” and thanks for reading regularly! 🙂 Yeah, I have heard some things about microwave cooking and how it may not always be the best BUT I still do warm up and heat things up in there still!!! (The convenience of it is FABULOUS!!) My stove is electric as well, and I agree! It can be very hard to regulate! Did you use a chocolate chip cookie you usually use OR did you try and new one that called for coconut oil??? I have been using it a bit over the past few weeks. Looking forward to sharing a bit more on that another day…….

  2. Thanks for the easy burger recipe Bobbi! I like to make burgers almost once a week since it is a meal everyone enjoys and I don’t ever hear complaints from my picky eater. This is nice because I have all the spices on hand and it jazzes up the ground beef. Can’t wait to try:) Your picture looks so scrumptious too, I want to eat it off the screen:)

    • Maybe we should invent “Taste-e screen” ~ you know, like “smell o’ vision??” OH. Not so possible…… Anyway, yeah this burger recipe is nice and unique yet not “mom, what did you do to these burgers?” unique. (I have picky ones too, so I. get. it.)

  3. Hey Bob, good to see you yesterday. These burgers sound and look selfish. We like to add a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce to our homemade patties for a deeper flavor too. Have a good holiday weekend!

    • YEAH, so nice to see you too!!! Good call with the Worcestershire sauce!!! Thanks for THAT tasty tidbit of info! Thanks, enjoy your weekend as well!!! 🙂

  4. Well, apparently my phone took my word delish and changed it to selfish. Ha! Too funny! They are not selfish, unless you want to keep them to yourself.

    • HA!! I just did a laugh or something cause my husband looked at me strangely and I had to explain about you thinking the burgers looked selfish and about how your phone is “smarter” than you. Silly technology THINKING it is oh. so. smart!! GREAT laugh!! Thanks for clearing THAT up…I was wondering what you ment!! 🙂

  5. hi Bobbi! throw a little vinegar in with the rags too, it will help 🙂 nothing too spectacular food made over here, but my kids love my hamburger stroganoff and chicken ceasar casserole. so they were happy this week! Good job with your blog, sorry, i don’t often comment, but i do read it 🙂

    • OH! Great vinegar tip!! I will try that next time! 🙂 I think that BOTH recipes you speak of sound fabulous!!! You will have to tell me more about them sometime, especially the chicken ceasar casserole!! Thanks for reading, no need to say sorry…… BUT it is REALLY good to hear from ya’ all sometimes!!! 🙂

  6. We are enjoying 70-80 degree weather down here in NW Georgia 🙂 Although the humidity is already starting to be oppressive so I’m not sure what is worse: colder weather or hot n humid weather. I have been freezer meal swapping and we stopped swapping meals a week ago and I still have a freezer stocked full of meals. I love it…not a lot of cooking happening for me lately 🙂 Just thaw and cook, yay! The burger recipe looks yummy. Love the wash cloth tip. I’ve thrown away quite a stinky wash cloths. I can’t stand that smell. So thanks for the tip!

    • Humid weather is rough!!! 70’s are lovely, we went from near 90’s to 40’s!!! THAT is a jump!! Crazy spring weather!!! Freezer swapping sounds real nice! I haven’t done that in years! Sounds like you do it throughout the winter and quit in the warmer weather??? Summer months you can swap homemade burgers and marinaded meat? JUST a thought…… 🙂

  7. nothin’ better than a burger on the grill….nothin’ worse than a smelly dish rag….thanks for the “recipes” for both . You know all about me.

  8. Hi Bobbi!!
    I am looking forward to seeing you at the twins birthday bash next friday!!!come early and stay late!!!!!!!!!!!
    Have you ever made “Sucsess Brown rcie ” it is in fancy boil in bags. I like it tho it is not practical it is easy and always turns out. But more imporatantly I loved the sentence about instant rice , you said “I have quit them…” good one bobbi , made my day(your blog always does , so that is not news)

    • YEAHHHHH!!!!! Will do!!! I have not tried the Sucsess Rice THO YOU have told me about it! I should try it!! You must tell me more sometime, we must chat soon. Thanks for the idear!! Oh, funny, sometimes I wonder what my spell check thinks of me….or grammer check…… it tells me the sentence is “improper” or misspelled BUT if I like it!! I KEEP it. 🙂 Thanks to YOU and EVERYONE for the fun fun comments. Good times in blogville.

  9. Love summer cooking and especially a good burger on the grill! Fabulous looking picture!! Will definitely try this sometime. Have you ever made the grilled pizza burgers? My kids love but don’t do too often b/c they are a bit putsy-sp?? Can’t wait to try these!! We are pretty set in our ways over here-our standard summer Friday night meal is hamburgers on the grill and Saturday is pizza night all year round. I always enjoy reading your blog. 🙂 Keep those recipes coming! Switching gears-there are still some recipes that I cannot open up from the recipe index. Has anyone else had trouble with this? Enjoy your summer!!

    • I have a burger recipe that you serve on an English Muffin that has some similarities to a pizza burger….. BUT if you mean the sloppy joe type of pizza burger then, no I have NOT tried that on the grill. Sounds really good though! Do you use a certain recipe?? Are they wrapped in foil?? Fabulous idea, THANKS for that!! I do “bake” ham and cheese buns on the grill all summer long….. I like your weekend dinner regularity!! We have pizza every weekend as well! Though usually on Friday……some weekends it happens to be Saturday. Yes, there was a problem with the recipe index!!! WordPress removed all my link-ups for some reason. I have been working on it slloowwwly. BUT will finish it (or try to right now!!) THANKS for the reminder!!!! Will do, you enjoy your summer as well!!!

  10. I am going to try this burger recipe, I can’t ever seem to get burgers right.
    I check your blog regularly, and have used quite a few recipes, I am not one to comment very often, but wanted you to know I read it.

    • I hope you guys enjoy these burgers 🙂 THANKS for reading, I really do enjoy knowing that people are reading. :)It makes it a lot of fun!!!

  11. Hi! What to tell you….oh I know, BOTH my kids are sleeping!!! Yah, time to catch up on some blog-reading 🙂 I really need to try this burger recipe some time soon, I usually just form the beef in patties without anything special and then sprinkle salt/pepper on Justins and a steak seasoning on mine, our preferences, but this sounds like it would be a tasty burger. Oh and I thoroughly enjoyed the thunder and dark clouds and rain for a bit today, I think you’re ‘dreary weather’ enjoyment is rubbing off on me 🙂

    • HIGH FIVES for sleeping!!! 🙂 Enjoy, right??? I like how you each have a preference as to what you like on burgers!!! I also like the idea of steak seasoning, we will have to try that!! We usually use seasoned salt if there is not marinade or seasoning on the meat. YAY!!! It is my goal to get everyone to see the good in a dark dreary rainy day. Shear giddiness. Glad you enjoyed the day!!! 🙂 Pretty sure I was driving IN the weather…… nice way to see clouds form…… 🙂

Leave a Reply

