Apple Butter

Standard

food 338

I was first introduced to Apple Butter years ago during a trip to Shipshewana, never thinking it was something I would make. I wasn’t sure if Apple Butter was a type of butter or jam…..a taste told me that it was like a jam, a cinnamony apple jam ~ almost like applesauce. My friend shared this recipe on Kat’s Kitchen and I gave it a whirl. Yum.

I do not enjoy it with peanut butter and bread, but that is cause I just don’t. like. PB & J. period. Not a fabulous combination, though I know I am in the major minority with THAT opinion!!!

I DO like it on a toasted piece of  “sturdy”  bread and then top it with deli sliced turkey and some cheese (mozzarella or cheddar or pepperjack) and then broil that till melted and browned. (Don’t knock it TILL you try it, I probably did  my mock gagging move the first time I heard about this…..WAY back in my less mature days of course 😉Now it is a very favorite lunch of mine!)

* I like to cook this over night, so I do not stir it the hours that I am alseep, cause….well….I am sleeping and it turns out fine.

* As you can see from the above picture that I left SOME apple chunks in, but mostly made it nice and pureed. Really just go for whatever consistency you like. I used my emersion blender for this, if you use a regular blender then please blend in small batches. Or leave it more on the chunky side!

* I used pumpkin pie spice the first time I made this as I had no cloves, which the original recipe called for, I liked the flavor of pumpkin pie spice ~ if you don’t like that flavor or you don’t have pumpkin pie spice then use  this exact recipe.

* I DO realize this is a very fallish recipe. BUT it can made it every season, so here on this VERY summery day is a wonderfully fall recipe!!

Apple Butter 
5 1/2 lb. apples ~ peeled, cored and chopped
2 c. white sugar
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
3/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1/4 tsp. salt
Combine all in a crock pot, cover and cook on high for 1 hour. Then turn to low and cook for 9-11 hours, try to stir 1 – 2 times, though if you make this overnight, don’t worry about it ~ it will be fine. Uncover and cook on low for 1 more hour. Blend, in small batches,  to the consistency you like, then put back in the crock pot and  cook on low for a few more hours to thicken up a bit more (mine was quite thick, so I skipped this last hour or so of cooking). Cool and store in containers, put one in your fridge and freeze the rest. Enjoy.

Recipe from Kat’s Kitchen.

food 339

Cinnamon Swirl Bread with Apple Butter.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

Leave a Reply

