Crunchy Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Standard

food 990Have you tried these granola bars yet??? They are a favorite over here for sure! This variation was just a way to jazz them up….you know, make them just a little bit different.  It was a hit here as well!  Enjoy!

* These make a LOT of bars, no less than 40. I will count next time and update this.

Crunchy Peanut Butter Granola Bars

6 c. quick oats
1/4 c. melted butter
1/4 c. oil
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. honey
1/2 c. peanut butter
2 TB. water
3 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 c. coarsely crushed Corn Flakes
1 c. peanuts (I use cocktail peanuts)
1 c. oat bran (or wheat bran or wheat germ)
3 c.  semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 c. peanut butter

Combine the oats, oil, butter and salt. Toss this in a large bowl. Pour into 2 cookie sheets (with sides) and bake @ 350* for about 18 minutes, stirring a few times. You want them just toasted light brown.

Meanwhile. Heat the brown sugar, honey, peanut butter and water just until sugar is dissolved ~ ALMOST to a full boil. Take off heat and add the vanilla. Pour the toasted oats in a large bowl, add the Corn Flakes, peanuts and oat bran ~ pour the sugar mix over and stir till ALL coated wall. Pour into a foil lined cookie sheet (with sides), be sure to grease the foil well. Gently press down a bit till nice and flat.

Lower your oven to 325* and bake for 18-22 minutes ~ be sure to check at 18! It may just be done by then!!!

When done, let cool a few minutes then very carefully cut the bars, do not remove bars from pan ~ you really don’t even HAVE to cut all the way through at this point, just scor the bars so that LATER cutting is EASIER.

 Let cool all the way. Cut into bars. Place bars on wax paper.

Melt the chocolate chips and peanut butter. When melted, spread over the bars. Let set till chocolate hardens, the fridge helps this process along!

 I hope you enjoy these as much as we do!!!

Recipe slightly adapted from these bars.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

3 responses »

  1. I’ve been eyeing these and now I’m wondering, what is oat bran? More specifically, what aisle will it be found in? 🙂

Leave a Reply

