Breakfast Pockets

Standard

food 634

This is one of those recipes that may take a bit of time to assemble, may seem daunting,  BUT I promise, it IS worth the effort. It is a bit tedious being that you have to scramble the eggs…..brown the bacon or sausage or cut up the ham….chop the veggies…..or fry the potatoes…..

The dough is GREAT to work with, my favorite.  

* The most important part of this recipe is to brush the dough with a beaten egg BEFORE you add all the toppings, it just helps to seal the edges so the lovely fillings don’t ooze out.

* The filling is 100% up to you and what your family like. Think of what you like  on your omelet, that might help you decide what to put in your pocket. 

* These freeze GREAT. Just warm in the microwave or wrap in foil and warm in the oven.  Great for busy mornings.

* I use a bread machine for this recipe, if you do not have one and would like to know how to make the dough by hand…just let me know and I will give you simple directions for that as well.

* You can also use frozen bread dough, thaw completely 1st. Probably 2 lb. you will need.

* REMEMBER ~ Add any meat (sausage, bacon, ham, etc.) any veggie (onion, green pepper, red pepper, spinach, broccoli…..etc.), really any potato (maybe not mashed) that you have on hand cam be used in these pockets.  I just did a batch with leftover scalloped potatoes. The cheese is up to you as well! I just used pepper jack cheese in mine. Use you imagination and HAVE FUN!!!

* Yield 16 “pockets”.

Breakfast Pockets 
1/4 c. warm milk
3/4 c. warm water
1/4 c. sugar
1/4 c. shortening
1 egg
1 tsp. salt
3 1/2-4 c. flour
1 egg, beaten (THIS is for brushing over the dough)
1 pkg. yeast (or 2 1/4 tsp.)
1/2 lb. breakfast sausage
3-4 c. of frozen shredded potatoes
8 eggs
good splash of milk
salt & pepper to taste
1 1/2 – 2 c. shredded cheddar (or cheese of choice)

Layer the first 8 ingredients in your bread machine in the order listed. My bread machine’s dough cycle is 1 1/2 hours. So I usually ignore it for a while, then come back when it has about 20 minutes to go. Then…..

Cook your sausage till no longer pink, drain. Set aside.

Cook your shredded potatoes till brown and crispy. (I melt some butter (( 1-2 TB.)) in my electric skillet and then when it is hot I add the potatoes, still frozen is fine but broken up a bit,  add some salt & pepper.  Cook @ 350* till nice and crunchy and browned. This may take up to 20 minutes.) Take out of pan and set aside.

Whisk the eggs and add a nice splash of milk (I never measure this…sorry, maybe 1/4 c. or so). Add salt & pepper to taste. Scramble.  When almost set, add the cheese and stir in real good. Take off heat and set aside.

Roll dough into a large squarish……now about the size. IF I were a math wiz I could probably figure out the exact size to roll it. Me. No. I just roll it till it looks good (Bigger then 16″ x 16″, maybe go for a 5″ square for each “pocket” if possible ~ so that would mean 25″ x 25″ I think). I just roll it so  I can cut 16 pieces (I know that….4 rows of 4!!!)  No need to have perfect shapes. I never ever do.  BEFORE you cut it brush the ENTIRE surface with the beaten egg. This will help seal the edges. Awesome.

Now, cut your rectangle into 16 ish pieces. 

Top one half  of your flattened dough shape with ~ 1st, the potatoes (or veg). 2nd comes the cooked sausage (or meat of choice). 3rd is the scrambled eggs and cheese. Fold top half over and press edges together to seal.

Put 8 on a cookie sheet, repeat. Cover with a light towel and let rise about 20-30 min. till doubled.

Bake @ 350* for about 20-25 minutes. Eat right away. Or chill to eat another day. Or freeze. Warm when ready to eat. Oh  yeah, and enjoy!!

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

2 responses »

  1. These look delightful, and yes, a bit daunting to attempt! But I am thinking to try for lunch sometime when the kids are home on summer break. We love breakfast over here, anytime of the day!! Would love to try something different-thanks for a new idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

