Onion Cheese Bread

Standard

food 286

A hobby of mine is recipe reading and collecting and years and years ago ~ before the thought of a blog EVER crossed my mind or before I even knew what a blog was……I wrote down recipes and cannot always remember were I got them from, this Onion Cheese Bread is one of those recipes, bummed I cannot remember the recipes origin ~ but I am happy to have it and have made it countless times! It is a REALLY quick throw together and bakes quick too and pairs well with …well….really anything.

Onion Cheese Bread  
1 TB. oil
3/4 c. diced onion
1/2 c. milk
1 egg, beaten
1 1/2 c. bisquick
1 c. cheddar cheese
1/2 tsp. onion salt
2 TB. melted butter
1 TB. parsley
Saute’ the onion in oil till browned a bit, to desired color ~ my desired color is brown, it is nice and sweet then. Let cool just a bit. In a bowl, combine the Bisquick, egg and milk. Mix and add 1/2 of the cheese and the onions. Spread this in a greased 8″ pie plate. Melt the butter and add the onion salt. Brush this over the dough. Sprinkle with parsley. Top with remaining 1/2 c. of cheese. Bake @ 400* for about 15-20 minutes till nice a brown. Cut into wedges, serve and enjoy.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

4 responses »

  1. yum!! I made your cordon bleu casserole and we loved it!!!! … kept scooping just a little more out of the dish! I followed your suggestion and served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli–so unusual so good!

Leave a Reply

