Quinoa Salad with Cranberries and Feta Cheese

Standard

Hi everyone!!! So, it is Weds. ~ usually that is Aldi day here. I took a few weeks off, was it missed?? I never have minded doing the “Aldi Special Buys” posts”, I actually enjoyed it ~ BUT really I don’t see an increase in readers that day, comments, or extra clicks. SO I am not sure it is read or useful to anyone. That is fine. I just think for now I am not going to be doing the Aldi day anymore.  (unless THERE is a huge protest and people still want to see the “special buys”!!)

THANKS as always for reading AND commenting. Seriously. Thanks.

Now for a recipe, Quinoa Salad with Cranberries and Feta Cheese.

THAT sounded fancy as I typed it in. Well, I am really not fancy. Nor is this salad. It is easy, healthy, yummy. I did not serve this to my family, but to a friend. We both enjoyed it.   Keep this in mind when you are having some friends over for lunch, it is a fun salad for that. OH, or just for fun,  make it for yourself. I have.

food 934

Quinoa Salad with Cranberries and Feta Cheese 

1 1/2 c. of cooked, cooled quinoa (follow pkg. directions)
2 green onions, chopped
1/2 c. dried cranberries
1/2 c. toasted pecans (toast slowly in a skillet, stirring often, till they smell nutty)
4 oz. feta cheese
1/4 c. balsamic vinegar
1/4 c. olive oil
1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
1 tsp. honey
few grains of salt

Combine the quinoa, green onion, cranberries, pecans and feta.

Whisk together the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, Dijon, honey and salt. Pour over quinoa mixture JUST before serving.

Enjoy.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

6 responses »

  1. Hey Bobbi- I want to try this recipe because I have quinoa on hand and I don’t have a lot of recipes that call for it and it is so healthy…but I am not a fan of feta cheese. Do you think I could omit and it would still be good or should I sub a different cheese in? I like every other kind of cheese just not feta.

    • I would sub in another cheese, the taste of cheese is really good in this salad!! I think any cheese would work fine!! Let me know which one you try IF you do try this recipe!!!! 🙂 THANKS!!!

  2. I like the looks of this salad—-I think I will file it away under “dishes to make for the cottage vacay” because I think the girls will love this!!!!hank you!!

  3. I”m like Beck, I have Quinoa on hand and don’t know what to do with it. I am going to make this for a pot luck at work tomorrow. Thanks Bobbi!

Leave a Reply

