Instant Oatmeal Packs & Blueberry Coffee Cake

Standard

Breakfast. Breakfast. Breakfast. You either really enjoy it or you can easily skip it. We enjoy it here. My kids enjoy boxed cereal, OF COURSE the sugary sweet ones are the best. They tell me. Though I already understood.

I am excited to share with you all a healthy breakfast and…. well……another breakfast.  🙂

food 952

In an effort to get them to be less picky and perhaps eat a bit healthier I wanted to make “instant” oatmeal. They enjoy the Instant Oatmeal Packs you can buy from the store. But, since I like to make things harder  I REALLY enjoy making things “from scratch”, I thought it would be fun to make some oatmeal packs at home. I saw a recipe here. Tried a few of the versions.  Take #1. ALL failed. Take #2. Changed the amounts of some ingredients, added a few different things. Pass.  The following is the version they enjoyed.

* Experiment with flavors you family enjoys! Add more or less cinnamon/sugar.

* I just pour boiling water in, stir, less set AND then I add a bit of milk ~ it cools it for the kids plus add a level of well…… the word that starts with “c” and rhymes with “dreaminess”.

* The powdered creamer is optional. I had a vanilla flavored powdered creamed that sounded like it might make for a nice flavor in the oatmeal.

I hope your family enjoys!

Instant Oatmeal Packs 

3 1/2 c. quick oats
salt
5 TB. brown sugar, divided
5 tsp. cinnamon, divided
5 tsp. powdered creamer, divided
10 small or snack size Ziplock bags

Put 1 c. of the quick oats in a food processor or blender and pulse till fine powder.

In EACH Ziplock bag. Put:
1 1/2 TB. oat powder
1/4 c. quick oats
pinch of salt
1/2 TB. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. powdered creamer

Zip closed. Put in your pantry.

When ready to serve ~ pour contents of 1 bag into a bowl and pour boiling water over top (I do JUST shy of 3/4 c.), stir, let set 2 minutes. Stir, serve.

We add a touch of milk and sprinkle with a cinnamon/sugar mixture. Just a touch.

Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Budget 101 ~ let me know IF you try any of the variations!

food 462

This is a lovely taste of springtime/early summer. It is light and lemony and packed full of delicious blueberries.

* I double the glaze.
* DO not thaw your blueberries if they are frozen, just put the frozen berries on top.
* If I happen to have a lemon just sittin’ there, I will add a bit of lemon zest to the topping. Just gives it a little more of a lemon kick.

Blueberry Coffee Cake 
1 lemon cake mix
1/4 c. soft butter
3 oz. soft cream cheese
1/3 c. water
2 eggs
1 1/2 c. blueberries, fresh or frozen
1/2 c. chopped walnuts, I skip
Glaze: 
1/2 c. powdered sugar
1 TB. soft butter
2-3 TB. milk
1/2 tsp. vanilla
Grease and flour a 9″ x 13″ pan. In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, butter and cream cheese. Mix at a low-speed until fine crumbs form. Take out 1 cup of the crumbs and set aside for the topping. To the remaining crumbs ~ add water and eggs and beat for 2 minutes on high. Pour into the prepared pan and top with blueberries. Combine the chopped nuts with the reserved topping and sprinkle over top. Bake @ 350* for 35-45 minutes. Cool 25 minutes. Meanwhile, combine the glaze ingredients and drizzle over coffee cake. Store any leftovers in the fridge. Enjoy! 🙂

Recipe from Mom W.

About Bobbi

I am a wife to my wonderful husband. I am a mom to 5 wonderful/busy/crazy/noisey/happy snappy boys. My hobby is cooking and baking, I love to read recipes and organize the recipes I have. I enjoy making food for people and sharing recipes. My husband is not picky and will eat almost anything, my kids are not quite as easy, they can be picky eaters, which has lead me to try to make more “favorite family foods”. I am hoping that through this blog some of my friends and family, or anyone for that matter, will share their favorite recipes too!!! Feel free to email me at favoritefamilyfoods@hotmail.com if you have any questions, suggestions or recipes you would like to share. I look forward to hearing from you! Bobbi

13 responses »

  1. I’ve been wanting to make this coffee cake for a while and finally got the chance to share at the cottage this weekend! I’m honestly not a huge fan of lemon or of blueberry, but the combination was intriguing to me. So glad I made this!

      • ha no problem, we got spoiled by your Mom’s cinnamon coffee cake as well this weekend..and now that I re-read this I just realized the original recipe came from her..this recipe must truly qualify as favoriteFAMILYfoods 😉

      • 🙂 I DID get to taste THAT cinnamon one as well today!!! I AM the spoiled one!!! YEP, best recipes come from family members!!! 😉

  2. I’m quickly converting to liking blueberries, mostly because of this coffee cake!
    I had extra blueberries after making this coffee cake this weekend, so I searched for a muffin recipe. My search lead me to your muffin recipe in the Clausing Family Cookbook..and they are phenomenal as well (could be a potential blog post so others can benefit?) 🙂
    Finally I wanted to share a random fact I found out this weekend (maybe you already do this?): instead of freezing baked muffins, you can freeze the batter (in a lined muffin pan), then pop them all in a freezer bag and bake as desired. Now I can have fresh muffins later, instead of scarfing a whole batch down in a week.

    • So happy you like this coffee cake!!! :). I WILL have to post that muffin recipe, I tried a few other blueberry muffin recipes (just cause I couldn’t help it, it is what I do) and have since decided ~ WHY mess with something that is not broken!! I will share that one soon!! I did NOT know or EVER think to do that with muffin batter!!! SO COOL!!! Do you have to thaw the batter before baking? Do you put in in fridge overnight, to thaw? or bake frozen?? I am so very interested! Thanks for that tidbit of food knowledge. 🙂

      • Well, you CAN thaw it and then bake it as you normally would, or supposedly if you stick them in the oven still frozen you just need to increase the baking time by a couple of minutes. Once my experiment is complete I’ll try and report back 🙂 And I don’t blame you for looking for more recipes, but that muffin recipe is the 1st time I’ve ever baked blueberry muffins, and I will NOT be looking elsewhere 🙂

      • I have some in the freezer ready to bake!! Let me know how yours goes and I will keep you posted on mine too!!! 🙂

  3. I tested these out and it worked like a charm! Fresh, warm muffins in a few minutes. Now I just need to replenish my freezer with more…

    • Oh good!! So glad they worked! What a good idea, would probably work with any muffin!! 🙂 Mine are still in the freezer……will use them some school morning!!

Leave a Reply

